Pauline Werner's Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
This was good, but not amazing. Will probably look for a different recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
Followed recipe exactly, but found it bland. I added a McCormick's Stew Seas. Packet and some Worcestershire sauce, and it was better. I've tried better stew recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
I like how easy it is to make. I used ground beef to shorten cooking time. Would like to add more seasoning next time. Maybe V8 juice?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Vicksburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
Very good stew, just like my Maw use to make. I did add 1 can of stewed tomatoes and 1 tablespoon of A1 sauce like another had suggested. Thank you very much for this recipe. Its a keeper. Lekker!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MARIAS23
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2007
Looking at the recipe's shortage of salt and previous reviewers' comments, I added 3 teaspoons of instant beef bouillon and the soup's flavor turned out delicious. I liked the addition of the tomato sauce. However, this dish (I think) isn't thick enough to be considered a stew. Maybe next time I'll add some cornstarch dissolved in equal parts water towards the end. It was pretty good, but there's nothing special about it. My hubby commented about adding some spice (maybe chili powder?) for a kick. Otherwise, this is the perfect soup for bread dunking on a cold winter night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
My husband and I thought this stew was delicious. Because of the tomato, it gives the stew a different flavor than your normal boring beef stew. I will use this recipe over and over. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
This was super easy to make and my husband took the leftovers to work to share with coworkers. It definitely got a two thumbs up from everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
This is a basic beef stew which is made better by substituting the tomato sauce with a can of stewed tomatoes and adding a package of onion soup mix with the water. This tastes fresher and more flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
Admittedly, I am from New Zealand, and this is just a typical stew over this side of the world. If the stew was oven heated on a low setting for around three hours, the meat would melt in your mouth and the flavours would have melded together better. A nice recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
So easy and so good. I added beef cubes (3-4) to the hot water instead of using beef broth. Also, I added 1 TBS. of A1 sauce. Thanks for sharing such a simple and delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B Clark

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Beef & Guinness Stew

Dark beer does delicious things to traditional beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States