Pauline Werner's Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
So yummy! I didn't change a thing. I will double it next time because my kids ate it all!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
I did make two small changes - instead of water, I did a beef broth, and I also added some dried thyme (about a teaspoon and a half). Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
My husband really enjoyed this stew tonight. The how smells wonderful! I did, however, add quite a few extras. Worstershire, basil, garlic, and a little chili powder. Great base recipe. Kind of a clean slate to flavor it however you like. Oh, and I substitued beef broth for the water for extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KNChandler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA
Living In: Pearl, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
The first time I tried this stew, it turned out delicious. I refined the recipe a bit. Definitely coat the beef by shaking it with the flour, salt and pepper in a ziploc bag. Also, add more flour than the recipe calls for. This is the thickening agent that will result in a gravy-like broth. I added one can of beef broth to the water that I added to the pot after the beef was browned. Leave the cover off the pan while the stew cooks after the veggies are added. This thickens the broth and intensifies the flavor. The veggies still cook fine with the cover off. And season to taste with salt and pepper toward the end of the cook time. The result is a classic hearty beef stew with a rich, meaty flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
I kept reading the recipe over and over again as I was making this-it just seemed too easy!! The beef stew came out absolutely delicious. *I used beef broth instead of water and added a few dashes of wosterchire sauce and gravy master.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
I added a beef bouillon cube for even more flavor. This is a great recipe. Was enjoyed by all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
This was god but I stil felt like something was missing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
This was just okay. The meat wasn't tender enough after that short cooking time. We like our beef stew to be "stewy" not "brothy." So I found a hint on another cooking site, which worked wonderfully to thicken this up. It said to mix about 1/4 cup softened butter with 1/4 cup flour to make a paste. Then all you do is add about a tablespoon at a time to your soup until it it's as thick as you like. I didn't really think this stew was that great though. I think if I make it again, I will cook my meat in the slow cooker the day before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KaylaMayaCamrynMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
Really good stew!! I did add some minced garlic, fresh parsley, oregano, and salt. But dang, it's tasty!!! The meat was tender and it was perfect for a cold evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Autumn Sliwka

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Gladstone, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
This is pretty close to my mom's recipe- very easy. Omitted the tomato sauce and subbed beef bouillon for the water. Thickened with a little flour in water at the end. If you're not familiar with thickening, remember to mix the flour or cornstarch with cold water first and add it slowly to the pot. This will avoid lumps. The stew turned out really good- even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amherst, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States