Pauline Werner's Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Norma Cummins
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
I tried this recipe because Pauline Werner said that it goes back four generations. It indeed, tasted like the stew that my mother used to make. I was never able to make my stew taste quite like hers, until now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
This was super easy to make and my husband took the leftovers to work to share with coworkers. It definitely got a two thumbs up from everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
This tastes just like my grandma's beef stew! I highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
I just had my wife's mother over for dinner and I made this stew. The smell wafting throughout the house was almost as good as actually eating this delicious stew. It was truly a great dinner, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
This was yummy! ^_^ My room mate and I loved it. If you switch beef broth for the tomato and thicken it, it's really good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Deerwood, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Warren, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
So good!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
WE MUST BE RELATED SAME RECIPES BEEN IN FAMILY FOR GENERATIONS ALSO GOOD WITH BREAD CRUST ON TOP COOKED LIKE DUMPLING IN BLACK IRON FOR CAMPING IN THE NORTH EAST
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
By far the easiest and best beef stew recipe I've ever had. I wouldn't make any changes to the base recipe, however just because my family likes them in beef stew, I also added a drained can of baby green peas and drained can of whole kernel corn toward the end of cooking time. Amazingly delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carthage, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
The best stew I have ever had! My whole family loved it. Super easy to make. Made the whole house smell terrific. With dinner rolls, the perfect meal for a cold evening. I usually add dried thyme - I think it adds a traditional "stew" flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
So easy and so good. I added beef cubes (3-4) to the hot water instead of using beef broth. Also, I added 1 TBS. of A1 sauce. Thanks for sharing such a simple and delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States