Pauline Werner's Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
By far the easiest and best beef stew recipe I've ever had. I wouldn't make any changes to the base recipe, however just because my family likes them in beef stew, I also added a drained can of baby green peas and drained can of whole kernel corn toward the end of cooking time. Amazingly delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carthage, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
WE MUST BE RELATED SAME RECIPES BEEN IN FAMILY FOR GENERATIONS ALSO GOOD WITH BREAD CRUST ON TOP COOKED LIKE DUMPLING IN BLACK IRON FOR CAMPING IN THE NORTH EAST
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
So good!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
This was a great stew, but I did need to add more to it as it seemed bland to me. So I added garlic powder and some thyme....and kosher salt. I think next time I will use a beef or vegetabe broth. Overall, it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Gatos, California, USA
Living In: Auburn, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
A very delicious recipe, and so easy to prepare! I used beef broth instead of water, and it sure gave it that slow-cooked, savory taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
This was yummy! ^_^ My room mate and I loved it. If you switch beef broth for the tomato and thicken it, it's really good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Deerwood, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Warren, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
I just had my wife's mother over for dinner and I made this stew. The smell wafting throughout the house was almost as good as actually eating this delicious stew. It was truly a great dinner, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
This tastes just like my grandma's beef stew! I highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Norma Cummins
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
I tried this recipe because Pauline Werner said that it goes back four generations. It indeed, tasted like the stew that my mother used to make. I was never able to make my stew taste quite like hers, until now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-69 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States