Pauline Werner's Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
This was a really easy a tasty recipe. It was a last second thing.."hey can you make beef stew for dinner!?" I changed it up a little by adding fresh corn and fresh green beans! I also added corn starch to thicken it up a little bit. All in all it is a very tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Norwalk, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
Good basic recipe. I added some white wine and thyme as others mentioned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
Very good recipe. I added Seasoning Salt and used 1/2 beef broth/1/2 water for more flavor. I also mixed warm water and cornstarch and then added to stew for a thicker consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Melissa Wilson Martin
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
This stew was quite simple to make, which is great for me. I actually made mine within an hour, and didn't stew the meat as long. The taste is hearty, and classic. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Wilson Martin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Payson, Utah, USA
Living In: Pleasant Grove, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
This is the best beef stew recipe I've ever tried, and the only one I'll keep making. I've made it at least 10 times this year. I add a little red wine and beef broth to the water in the beginning. This is #1!!!! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
This is a great stew recipe as is, but I made some modifications, and its now a staple at our house. I don't dredge the beef in flour before browning, and I omitted the bay leaf and barley (my hubby isn't a fan of either in his stew). My hubby snuck in the kitchen and spiked it with half a packet of beef stew seasoning once -- I was horrified at first! -- but it gave it some oomph. Also, I added some (about a Tbs, maybe?) worchestershire sauce and a dash of crushed red pepper for some zing. At the very end of cooking (the last 3-5 minutes), I stir in about a cup of frozen peas. In my opinion, it makes the stew. But even without all the modifying, I have to say, its a great recipe as-is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by almondjoy2807

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seaside, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
I have made this recipe quite a few times now and it always turns out wonderful! Easy to do and very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
I was NOT impressed with this recipe. First of all, after cooking it according to the directions for the length of time specified, the potatoes and carrots were still raw! Gross! We couldn't eat it! I had to increase the temperature and cook it for an extra 1-2 hours, and then we had it for leftovers the next day. It was better, of course, with the veggies cooked, but... we still found it very bland and unimpressive. I will not make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
I added more flavouring than the recipe called for - used beef bouillion like most people, and added maggi to individual taste. I added more barley than I should have, but that's my own fault - I'll make this again and next time use less barley. Definitely serve with a crusty bread! Mine was a pretty thick stew, but if you're finding it too thin add 1tbsp of cornstarch dissolved in 1tbsp hot water near the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
Simple recipe, REALLY good! Added thyme as suggested, and 1/8 t. allspice at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States