Paula's Polenta with Mushroom Topping Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
I can't rate this because I changed way too much from the recipe. Like others who've rated the recipe, I find polenta to be very bland. So while cooking it for this recipe, I added to the water-cornmeal mixture: salt, pepper, minced garlic, ground cumin, whole cumin seeds that I'd toasted in a pan, chile powder, and onion powder. In addition to the mushroom topping in this recipe, I also had a pico de gallo-style topping, and a garlic onion tomato sauce topping. I made a pile of lightly-steamed spinach in the center of each plate, placed several polenta slices on the spinach and garnished them only with a little coarse pepper and salt, and some sprigs of cilantro. Then I made small piles of each type of topping in an array around the polenta so that toppings could be added as prefered by the consumer. This went over really well and got rave reviews - the first time we've had polenta and liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2001
I liked the simplicity of this meal. The polenta may be used as appetizers. Broiling the polenta until browned gave it an oily flavor which was similar to fried tortilla chips. Baking lightly gave a great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2002
This recipe worked great when I doubled it to make 8 servings. I also used some Shittake mushrooms which brought a rich flavor to the sauce. Another tip, it was difficult to transfer the cut polenta from the wax paper since I accidentally cut through the wax paper when I was slicing the squares. The waxpaper stuck to the polenta. So I just lifted it with teh wax paper and flipped it over when I put it on the baking sheet and then peeled off the wax paper. This worked well for me. This is a savory recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2004
So great. My polenta hating husband even loved it, plus it was easy and fast!! I did make some minor changes...I used green onions instead of white ones, sprinkled each polenta blob with balsamic vinegar and parmesan cheese and broiled for 6 minutes...but thats all. Really devine, wished I had made more. Will add to rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BUNNYGRRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Temple Hills, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2002
this is quick and easy. the mushroom sauce ing adds just the right touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2003
had trouble getting out the lumps in the polenta...added a little bit of soy butter for a creamier mushroom sauce. delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baby Potsticker
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
This came out pretty good but I did make a few changes of my own. I sauteed the mushrooms, onions,garlic and added a couple slashes of white wine and some fresh spinach at the end. When the spinach wilted i topped the fried polenta. I enjoyed this and will probably make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baby Potsticker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
Overall a good recipe and for sure a do again. I used a sifter to add the cornmeal to the water so that it would not lump, added about 1/2 cup parmesian and some fresh basil to the polenta before I spread it. The mushroom topping was great as is, but next time I may add 1 tbs of butter or splash of white wine right at the end to make it more of a sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2004
The polenta is not very tasty like in some restaurants when I have had it. But the mushrooms or whatever you put on top will make it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2003
This was ok. I would not make it again, but my mom enjoyed it, so that is why I gave it three stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mushroom and Ricotta Bruschetta

Make a simple bruschetta with ricotta and sautéed mushrooms.

Mushroom Veggie Burger

See how to make a flavorful veggie burger that’s never dry.

Chef John's Three Corn Polenta

Jazz up creamy polenta with fresh corn kernels.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States