Paula's Bread Sticks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
Yum, this recipe turned out wonderfully with some slight changes! I made this recipe the traditional way w/out a bread machine by proofing yeast w/ 1 tbs honey and warm water for about 10mins. Then added the rest of the ingredients (I cup of flour at a time until elastic), kneaded the dough for about 6-8 mins and let it rise until doubled. Changes: • I made these into 12 large sweet rolls instead of breadsticks. Since the dough is pretty sweet I didn’t add any additional sugar, I just left out the seeds. If you are making breadsticks I'd decrease the sugar to 2-3 tbs. and you might want to try adding some garlic, oregano, and onion powder to the dough to make it really tasty. • The trick to getting a crunchy exterior is by spraying the dough with oil before baking. You will get a better texture if you use bread four instead of all-purpose (although, all-purpose still works well). If you are still getting a tough breadstick try decreasing the sugar (sugar competes with the yeast for liquid), and/or increase the butter to 4 tbs). Wonderful recipe besides those small changes!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
258 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2003
SENSATIONAL! I am having company from out of town tomorrow, and will be serving a spaghetti and meatball dinner. I wanted something extra special and different for a bread. After finding this one, I decided to try it. Ite was easy and wonderful! However, instead of rolling the dough into 18 separate balls and then rolling them out individually, I rolled the dough into a rectangle, and took a pizza cutter, cutting the dough into strips. It worked perfectly, and was time saving. Thanks for sharing this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
137 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Sparta, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2005
These were great. Crunchy on the outside and soft and chewy inside. I added garlic powder, oregano, basil, and parsley to the dough. I used the stand mixer and did not double the recipe. I kneaded by hand for aobut 10 minutes, and let the dough rest for 10 minutes before shaping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2005
Excellent recipe. The dough was extremely easy to work with and easy to add any personal touch you may want I.E. garlic butter, oregano etc. I took the tip from STACERP and LCAROLINE to roll dough out in rectangle and cut with knife or pizza cutter. For crispier sticks cook at 400º for 8 min then reduce heat to 350º until golden brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2002
Great recipe. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2002
Easy & delicious! I baked the bread sticks on a pizza baking stone - didn't need to spray it with nonstick spray - they came out golden brown and perfect. I liked being able to use the bread machine to mix it and go through the initial rise. Thanks for sharing this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brawley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2002
These are the best homemade bread sticks I have had. They are also very quick and easy. I vary the recipe by substituting olive oil for the butter and adding a liitle salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FIFIGIRLM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cass Lake, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2001
I omitted the sesame seeds and made these into cinna-sticks and they were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELLYGIRL23
Home Town: Sultan, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2001
Thank you for this recipe. I found it very easy to make. My Family (2 adults and 2 kids) really loved them. They will be a favorite in our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2001
Simple and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States