Paula's Bread Sticks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
Yum, this recipe turned out wonderfully with some slight changes! I made this recipe the traditional way w/out a bread machine by proofing yeast w/ 1 tbs honey and warm water for about 10mins. Then added the rest of the ingredients (I cup of flour at a time until elastic), kneaded the dough for about 6-8 mins and let it rise until doubled. Changes: • I made these into 12 large sweet rolls instead of breadsticks. Since the dough is pretty sweet I didn’t add any additional sugar, I just left out the seeds. If you are making breadsticks I'd decrease the sugar to 2-3 tbs. and you might want to try adding some garlic, oregano, and onion powder to the dough to make it really tasty. • The trick to getting a crunchy exterior is by spraying the dough with oil before baking. You will get a better texture if you use bread four instead of all-purpose (although, all-purpose still works well). If you are still getting a tough breadstick try decreasing the sugar (sugar competes with the yeast for liquid), and/or increase the butter to 4 tbs). Wonderful recipe besides those small changes!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
278 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2003
SENSATIONAL! I am having company from out of town tomorrow, and will be serving a spaghetti and meatball dinner. I wanted something extra special and different for a bread. After finding this one, I decided to try it. Ite was easy and wonderful! However, instead of rolling the dough into 18 separate balls and then rolling them out individually, I rolled the dough into a rectangle, and took a pizza cutter, cutting the dough into strips. It worked perfectly, and was time saving. Thanks for sharing this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
139 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Sparta, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2005
These were great. Crunchy on the outside and soft and chewy inside. I added garlic powder, oregano, basil, and parsley to the dough. I used the stand mixer and did not double the recipe. I kneaded by hand for aobut 10 minutes, and let the dough rest for 10 minutes before shaping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2005
Excellent recipe. The dough was extremely easy to work with and easy to add any personal touch you may want I.E. garlic butter, oregano etc. I took the tip from STACERP and LCAROLINE to roll dough out in rectangle and cut with knife or pizza cutter. For crispier sticks cook at 400º for 8 min then reduce heat to 350º until golden brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2002
Easy & delicious! I baked the bread sticks on a pizza baking stone - didn't need to spray it with nonstick spray - they came out golden brown and perfect. I liked being able to use the bread machine to mix it and go through the initial rise. Thanks for sharing this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brawley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2002
Great recipe. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2002
These are the best homemade bread sticks I have had. They are also very quick and easy. I vary the recipe by substituting olive oil for the butter and adding a liitle salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FIFIGIRLM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cass Lake, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2001
I omitted the sesame seeds and made these into cinna-sticks and they were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELLYGIRL23
Home Town: Sultan, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
I must admit I changed the recipe. Trying to be more healthy, I substituted 1.5 cups wheat flour and added 1/4 cup wheat germ; left out the sesame seeds because children don't like them. LOVED this! Will definitely be making as often as I have time. Also, don't have a bread machine, so I just mixed it all together, kneaded 5 min, left to rise, then shaped and baked. Not sure why they say "3 hrs." it takes me about an hour and a quarter. Still love these! Still don't have a bread machine, though, and don't keep powdered milk on hand, so I just substitute regular milk for the water, add sugar and yeast, let sit for a few minutes to proof, add to rest of ingredients, mix, knead for a bit (4-5 min) then proof in slightly warm oven for 30-45 min. Then, bake and heavenly! My family fight over them. Depending on the meal, I also sometimes add garlic and/or Italian herbs. Absolutely the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2001
Thank you for this recipe. I found it very easy to make. My Family (2 adults and 2 kids) really loved them. They will be a favorite in our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States