Paula's Bread Sticks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
I have made these 2 days in a row. They are incredibly easy and very tasty. There are endless options of spices you can use to adjust the flavor to suit the tastes of your family. I do find that the cooking time to get them brown & crusty on the outside and soft on the inside is much longer than the suggested 10-12 minutes. It is more like 20 in my oven and that is basting them with a garlic butter about 1/2 way through baking. When my daughter can do quick breads for 4-H, I am certain she will present this as one of her projects. Thanks for the resume.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
These are absolutely wonderful breadsticks. I did let them rise a little too long so they were huge, but nonetheless they were perfect. I was a bit skeptical about being bland, but the sesame seeds add just the right touch. This is now going to be my go-to breadstick recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
These are, by far, the best breadsticks I've ever had. I did not have powdered milk, so I subbed milk for the water. I didn't have any sesame seeds, so I left them out. When the dough came out of the bread machine, I rolled it out into a rectangle and used a pizza cutter to cut into sticks. When they had just a couple of minutes of baking time left, I took them out and brushed them with melted garlic butter, topped with some cheese and put them back into the oven. These are absolutely divine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HomeschoolMom78

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bartlesville, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Easy to make, but kind of tough and plain. Didn't go over very well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DJCee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
These were just what I was looking for, nice and crunchy on the outside, but soft inside. Made one batch plain (Not as fond of these). The best tasting was to add Italian herbs, Garlic and olive oil together in a dish and then brush over the top of the sticks before putting in the oven. Also to make them crisp I sprayed the sticks in the oven twice within the first 5 minutes of cooking with water. Will certainly be making these Italian herb bread sticks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
Very good and easy. I used my bread machine on dough cycle. I used half wheat and half white flour, 3 T sugar, and added 1 T italian seasonings, and 1/2 t of garlic powder to the dough. Rolled into the 18 sticks just fine. Before putting in the oven to bake I brushed with 2 T melted butter and 2 T grated parmesan cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joyful1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ames, Iowa, USA
Living In: Zumbrota, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
I've made these twice. Once exactly as stated, and the other time using 2/3 cup water and 2/3 cup milk, due to being out of powdered milk. The 2nd time I also added 1 tsp. garlic granules to the dough and brushed the baked bread sticks with oil and sprinkled with grated Parmesan cheese. They were great both ways, although the sesame seeds were kind of lost in the dough... I think they'd be better sprinkled on top of the bread sticks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
Made these for a family event and they turned out great! I don't have a bread maker so i put the water and yeast with a T of honey and let it get cloudy before adding the rest of the ingredients that had been blended together. I let it rise for about 1-1 1/2 hrs covered and then rolled it out and cut it with a pizza cutter into small breadsticks (they doubled in the oven so make sure they're half the size you want). I also added italian seasoning and some garlic powder to the mixture. I topped it with tons of butter and garlic salt. Next time i will baste every couple of minutes with butter to give it more flavor. Awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by footballgrl16

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
I'll definitely use this recipe again. I used olive oil in place of butter, and 2 cups all purpose flour plus 2 cups stone ground whole wheat flour in place of 4 cups bread flour. My bread sticks were soft--just the way I wanted them. Perfect with soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
I didn't use the dry milk powder because I didn't have any. This recipe turned out great and everybody loved them...Definitely a keeper!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States