Paula's Bread Sticks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
these were just ok
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
I must admit I changed the recipe. Trying to be more healthy, I substituted 1.5 cups wheat flour and added 1/4 cup wheat germ; left out the sesame seeds because children don't like them. LOVED this! Will definitely be making as often as I have time. Also, don't have a bread machine, so I just mixed it all together, kneaded 5 min, left to rise, then shaped and baked. Not sure why they say "3 hrs." it takes me about an hour and a quarter. Still love these! Still don't have a bread machine, though, and don't keep powdered milk on hand, so I just substitute regular milk for the water, add sugar and yeast, let sit for a few minutes to proof, add to rest of ingredients, mix, knead for a bit (4-5 min) then proof in slightly warm oven for 30-45 min. Then, bake and heavenly! My family fight over them. Depending on the meal, I also sometimes add garlic and/or Italian herbs. Absolutely the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
This one's a keeper! I rubbed olive oil & sprinkled garlic salt on each breadstick before baking. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
Didn't use sesame seeds because I didn't have any....Used 1 & 1/2 tsp. salt & 1/2 tsp. garlic salt; added a bit of garlic powder & onion powder & then sprinkled with parmesan cheese. Plain tasting, so sprayed with Butter Flavored Cooking Spray, sprinkled parsley, onion & garlic powder & parmesan. Better...but still not amazing. Very plain-tasting. Served with Baked Potato Soup (From This Site) & a Fresh Salad with chopped veggies in it. Next time, I will load up on the flavorings before rolling out
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetChelsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
My kids really enjoyed this recipe. I proofed the yeast with a little sugar and water first. I don't have a bread machine (not a lot of bread made in my house), so I used a stand up mixer and just let the dough rise on the counter. Thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver Lake, Ohio, USA
Living In: Stow, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
These are great! I halved the batch and ended up with 10 bread sticks. So yummy. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BETHAROO2U

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jumpropegirl
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
Awesome! Addicting! It taste soft, tender, and slightly buttery. My modifications: (My first time) in a bread machine I used 2/3 cup water and 2/3 cup milk. 4 TB butter 2 cups bread flour 2 cups all purpose 2tsp salt 2 TB sugar 2 1/2 tsp yeast. I made them in rolls instead and waited for 30-45 mins to rise. Then baked for 5 mins then added garlic parmesan butter. Then baked for the remaining of the time. It was soft and had a crunchy exterior. The second time, I used the same recipe above, but used 4 cups all purpose flour. My bread sticks were soft on the outside and inside! It depends what texture you like! Sooo addicting and good! _____________________________________ Guess what? It gets even better! I used this dough for making pizza! Oh it was amazing. Roll out the dough in a pizza pan/cookie sheet. Place toppings: pizza sauce first and follow with veggies, then top with mozzarella cheese and sprinkle with Parmesan cheese! Bake at 450 for 13 mins-15 mins! Enjoy! My friends raved about this pizza and the bread sticks! Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jumpropegirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
Very good. A little tough but that could be that I may have rolled it out a bit much. Much more dense than the kids are used to. I put a garlic butter spread on them 1/2 way through. No seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shawano, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
These were a little too sweet for my taste. That said, everything else was great! I think next time I'll scale back on the sugar. I'm not sure you would need the full amount of fat. I'll scale back on that, too, next time since I like to melt a stick of butter in the pan and roll them in it before rising the second time, then let them just cook in the rest. They come out with an amazing texture and taste!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
excellent! I added garlic powder, onion powder and oregano as suggested and put just a little less flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States