Paula's Bread Sticks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
I would give more stars if I could but these sticks were EXCELLENT! I would never buy bread sticks again. It was SO easy yet so tasty! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
I didn't bother with cutting them individually. I patted the bread onto a cookie sheet, cut them as best I could with a pizza wheel, brushed with garlic butter and baked. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakland, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
These were so yummy. I made a couple of small changes and I loved the results. As another reviewer noted I dropped the sugar to 3 tbls. I also increased the butter by 1 tbls more. I increased the yeast to 1 rounded tbls. I added everything and then used a mixmaster to blend it with the first 2 cups flour for about five minutes. I only added about 3.25 cups flour total and that was plenty. The only other thing that I did was to melt .5 cups of butter with a little garlic powder and pour it into the bottom of my pan and then roll my breadsticks in it. All in all my new favorite recipe. Thanks so much!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
These came out pretty good. I had a hard time rolling them, so they werent very pretty! I omited the sesame seeds, and I brushed garlic butter on them before baking. I will make these again, and I will experiment with adding different herbs too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ambibambi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
I agree with some of the other posters that these bread sticks have the potential to taste just like regular, skinny dinner rolls. The trick is to make them really long and skinny . . . they're not going to taste like Olive Garden fluffy bread sticks, but they will get that perfect crispy on the outside and chewy on the inside Italian bread stick texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
Not great, just OK. They're kind of flavorless (so I recommend dumping some herbs into the dough) and definitely not as tasty after a day or so. Great right out of the oven though. Mine stayed soft all over. Made them twice, both times I got the same result. Not going to save this one. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Renton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
Indeed very delicious ...will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kota Kinabalu, Sabah, Malaysia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
This was truly delicious! I dont have a bread maker so I got some quick rising yeast and combined all ingredients-(ALWAYS put the yeast and water first, then combine all ingredients in a bowl.) Then after I combined and had a big ball of dough, I put coconut oil in a bowl and let it rise for 20 minutes in a warm oven. (Remember I dont have a bread maker) After 20 minutes, I ripped pieces of dough and rolled it out into long strips and sprayed pam onto a pan. I had to let my bread sticks cook for about 20-25 minutes because of the amount of dough that I used for each one(Thats the only reason why I gave this recipe 4 stars instead of 5.). It almost came out like individual loafs.(Who cares how they looked, they were great!!) But I took garlic powder and melted butter, mixed it together and topped on the bread. Then I sprinkled some parmesian cheese onto it. Man this was great. My family wants me to make this again! Thanks Paula!! YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
I just thought these were okay. I tried them a few different ways: substituting a bit of wheat flour and also tried some with cheese sticks in them. I'll keep looking for another recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by momof3
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
These are so good and so easy. I left out the sesame seeds. When they came out of the oven I brushed them with melted butter and sprinkled them with garlic powder and parmesan cheese. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momof3

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 111-120 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States