Paula's Bread Sticks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
Great with spaghetti! I brushed the bread sticks with olive oil and topped them with some garlic salt and Italian spices... YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
I enjoyed this recipe although it was not what I was looking for originally. I took the advice of some other people and cut back the sugar and add garlic salt...I think next time I will leave the garlic salt out and I will do it on the outside, Good recipe however...my boyfriend wanted more!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pais

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
Awesome...here's my adaptation: No bread machine/Bread hook in mixer -dissolve yeast in water with 1 T of honey 5 minutes -used 2 cups all purpose flour -used 2 cups wheat -substituted sesame seeds with flax seeds allowed to rise for 30 minutes then "punched down and kneaded" until dough wasn't sticky anymore -seperated into 15 pieces....snake rolled and spiraled. Pressed into a cinnamon/sugar mixture. Whoala...healthy cinnamon rolls
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Joliet, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
Very delicious! The first time I made them they were extremely heavy, but that was definitely my fault as I hadn't kneaded the dough enough. The second time was great, I added garlic, oregano and some basil to the mixture. I let the dough rise in a warm oven and after 30 minutes I rolled it out and used a pizza cutter to cut them into strips - a tip from another member that worked great! I spread some olive oil on the top and 10 minutes into baking I put butter, a little more garlic salt, and oregano as well as some Parmesan and mozzarella cheese. These were very scrumptious and I will definitely be making them again in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kirsten

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
Very yummy. Only complaint is that they came out a little chewy. Not as light and fluffy as I wouldve wanted. BUT they still tasted great. I brushed some melted butter with garlic on them too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Azita
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
My first time ever making breadsticks and I was VERY pleased!!! I did cut back on the sugar to 1/8 cup or 2 TBS. and didn't use the dry milk. I melted the butter and added it to the rest of the ingredients. I don't have a bread machine, so I did it all by hand. The kids loved helping. You DEFINATELY need to have your oven at 400 to get them brown! Thanks for our new recipe we will be using for who knows how long. I am going to try something with the leftovers at breakfast tomorrow. Maybe with icing and a cinnamon sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Clara, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mike11C
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
The first time I made these, I only made 8 out of the dough. They were really good but rather large. Now I make 16 to a batch. I melt a tablespoon of butter, mix in some garlic salt and brush it on the bread sticks about five minutes before they are ready to come out of the oven. They taste alot like the bread sticks at the Olive Garden. Awesome, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike11C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mcallen, Texas, USA
Living In: Royse City, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
I love these! The first night I only made 9...the second night I made 27 and froze them. They freeze and reheat well. Just pop them in the oven at 350 for about 10 minutes. I made a few changes to these, mostly for personal preference. I reduced the sugar by half, and replaced it with raw honey (so 2 tbsp. raw honey instead of 4 tbsp. sugar). I omitted the powdered dry milk as I didn't have any. I also used half whole wheat flour. These are crunchy on the outside and chewy and soft on the inside. I brushed them with melted butter when they came out of the oven and sprinkled with garlic salt -- they taste a lot like Olive Garden's this way. :) Will make them a lot, keep them in the house! BTW, without a bread machine -- proof the yeast in water with sugar or honey, mix in butter and salt, then flour. I kneaded for about 10 min. until the dough was the proper consistency. I let it rise in a warm oven for about an hour. Then I rolled the sticks out, and let them rise another 30 - 45 min. Then, I baked them for about 15 min. This is a great BASIC recipe. If you want them to taste any particular way -- cinnamon, garlic, etc. -- you must add your own topping or add some spices to the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
It's not a phenomenal recipe, it's okay as a base. A little too sweet for me. If I make this again I'll cut the sugar down and make sure to do an egg wash on the top. They look extremely bland and unappetizing without it. I even topped them with garlic, fresh grated Romano cheese and oregano. This recipe could be much better with a bit of tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
Good soft breadsticks. Need a dipping sauce though, a bit bland to stand alone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States