Patty's Tofu Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Patties did not hold together well despite very well drained extra firm tofu and addition of extra egg. When cooked, texture was mushy, so much so that it fell apart while eating. Taste was very bland. Needs more spices for flavor and beans for texture. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Made this recipe, worked like a champ! I didn't have a problem with the patties falling apart. This is a welcome recipe as I have just become a vegetarian and don't have many recipes yet. I will make this again, even my non-vegetairan kids ate this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
My whole family loved this! It was my first time making it today and it turned out good. I burnt the bottom on the second flip though so I would recommend only giving the bun 3 minutes to cook after you've flipped it once. I cut the recipe in half but more spices wouldn't hurt it either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
Yummy! Good texture. Maybe a bit bland, but you can certainly dress them up easily enough. Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
these were alright. I added more spices and tried to jazz them up a bit because they were really really bland the first time around. Anyways, they still feel like they're missing something, I'm just not totally sure what. I don't think I'll make them this way again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marek

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
I halved the recipe because there is just my husband and I at home, and still was able to make 11 medium-sized burgers out of half the suggested mixture. Not a bad thing, by the way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
This made a dozen large burgers, not just 8. I added four extra eggs since the commentors suggested more egg to hold the burgers together. Also used instant oats. They still didn't stay together great, but not bad. They were okay with sauce on top - otherwise bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
These were really good. My family was doubtful in the beginning but after they tasted it they loved it. I drained the tofu and pressed it for half an hour before mixing with the rest of the ingredients. I also made thinner patties and they crisped up nicely on the outside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
This is a good recipe, and I'll give it 5 stars because we like it, it's healthy, and I'll make it again. I did have to make changes though- I didn't have red curry powder, so I used curry powder plus some red chile paste instead. I added extra garlic, garlic powder and onion powder, and some black pepper. i think this is a bit bland in flavor, but with additional seasonings, it's a great recipe. And it sure is a lot healthier than the tofu burgers that are at the store. I may add some shredded carrot to this next time, I think it would work out pretty well. Oh- and VERY important-- you MUST drain your tofu ahead of time. I wrap it up in a clean kitchen towel, then place it between two plates, and put something heavy on top. Let it sit for 25-20 minutes, to squeeze that water out. Also... make sure you use QUICK COOK oats--- not the 5 minute cook oats. The quick cook (i.e. cooks in 1 minute), has no problem in getting the batter to stick together. That being said, this is a nice recipe for healthy homemade tofu burgers... just add extra spices and try some different things. We added a bit of hot sauce, when eating, and it tasted great that way! Another one to try, is a little bit of cheese (maybe some pepper jack?).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly but I mixed it all together in my food processor. Turned out sticky so I just took a large spoonful and dropped in the preheated pan, then flattened and shaped a bit with a spatula and they turned out great. I think a little salt and pepper might have been an improvement though, so will add some next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nobel, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Yummy Lemon Salmon Burgers

See how to make quick-and-easy salmon burgers.

Tasty Tuna Burgers

See how to make truly tasty tuna burgers.

Grilled Spicy Lamb Burgers

These may be the most flavorful grilled burgers ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States