Patty's Mom's Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2004
I made this with a ham hock and pretty much as written. Unfortunately, I just realized right now that I forgot the sherry! I pureed about half of the beans, trying to thicken the soup without losing all the texture. It was good, but I don't know if I'll try it again. Needed more flavor, but I don't know how much I lost by forgetting the sherry...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
This is a very good soup. Yes, it takes a long time. Why do beans take SO long to get done? Man. But the combination of flavors is excellent. I have always enjoyed sherry as a finisher in soups and I wasn't disappointed this time around. The only thing keeping this recipe from a five-star rating is the investment of time it takes to prepare ... soaking the beans overnight, waiting for the beans to soften, etc. Other than that, it's a great recipe. Do note, I had to at least double the amount of salt. And don't forget to remove the bay leaves before you blend the mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
I first made Patty's BB soup about a year ago, but didn't think to post a review. However, I was preparing to e-mail this recipe to my daughter and was shocked to see it only had 2 reviews! This soup was so much yummier than other Black Bean soups I tried out. First of all, to those that feel it takes to long for the bean prepartion.....really, one can skip the overnight soak. That mostly helps as far as keeping you quite so "windy" after eating. The sherry is a most! Do not skip it or any other sherry you may have on hand. I slow cook mine for the better part of a day because we like our soup rather thick. Oh, and one more thing! I once tried dipping this soup over rice, ala`Red Beans & Rice. Yeah! Majorially yummy! A side of corn bread muffins and it's all about heaven. Thanks Patty's Mom!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FLOWERBUFF

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
this is a great soup and it makes a ton. the only changes i made were to sub some of the water with some ham broth i had in the freezer from when i do a baked ham and i forgot the sherry. it was delic, husband loved it also. mine was pretty salty but i think that was my fault as the ham broth is salty, oh and i cooked it for quite a while so had to add extra chicken broth to keep it soupy. all in all i'll use this recipe again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
Excellent black bean soup. I'll be using this recipe from now on. I was in a hurry, so I used three large cans of black beans, which I drained and rinsed. Added a carton of chicken broth and tossed everything else into the mix. Only other change I made was to add garlic and a teeny bit of cilantro. Thanks, Patty's Mom!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Gatley

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fruita, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
Great soup, I changed the cooking method and used my slow cooker. I added the ham bone, soaked beans, cooked onions & celery along with rest of the ingriendents to the cooker. I also added cumin and cayenne to the soup. Cooked on low for 8 hours. Pureed the soup with an immersion blender, a lot easier! Topped soup with cheese and crumbled tortilla chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KERIS1172

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hambden Township, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
This soup was really good - I added coriander, cumin and cayenne pepper to give it a little kick
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
This is such a simple and tasty recipe. Blending the black beans makes it distinctive. Without that I think it would be just another black bean soup. I used a hand blender in the pot and was done in minutes. I didn't have a hambone so I used beef stock concentrate and diced ham--was wonderful this way too. An extremely easy and economical soup. Will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
Wonderful. I only used half the amount of Sherry and ended it in a blender to make it creamy. Very good. Yes its time consuming to make but its worth it. I even ate some for breakfast the next morning. I fried a tortilla, poured some of the soup on top and then placed two fried eggs on top of that with some cheese, tomatos and red onion. Awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauren
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
This soup is amazing IF it's served with a dollop of fresh home-made salsa on the top of it. The combination of the comforting gloopy warmth of the soup contrasting with the fresh crunchy zing of the salsa make it one of my favourite dishes ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States