Patty's Mom's Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
We had this for the second time last night and my husband and kids could not rant and rave enough. My husband has been to culinary school and is hard to impress. I used stock and meat that I froze after our July 4th ham and canned beans. It was still so tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
Watch the salt with a smoked ham shank.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Perfect. Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kita Murdock

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelburne, Vermont, USA
Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
I personalized this one a bit. Used black and white beans, 1 can of each, used 6 cups water, 2 cups chicken broth, no sherry, added cumin and chili powder and also added green peppers. SOOOO yummy! And easy! I let it cook for about 3 hours, fished out the ham, pureed it in the pot with a hand mixer, ripped off the good pieces of ham and threw them back in and done! A delicious soup! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nicoleb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I have a similar recipe, however, I substitute some of the water with beef broth or bouillon cubes for a tastier and stronger base. I eliminate the sherry and still have excellent results. I also puree the beans, but leave some whole in the soup. Good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
Out of three homemade soups I offered at our christmas open house this was the least favorite. The soup was good, I like the sherry, but it couldn't compete with salmon chowder and tortilla soup. Also the sherry flavor fades adn I kept adding more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rochelle Villenave

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
I like black beans in other recipes, but I did not like the flavor of this soup at all. It simply tasted like regular bean soup.....which I do not like. My husband said that it was just ok. I think I will try to freeze the rest of the pot and take it to my Dad, who loves bean soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
I added cumin and oregano. Awesome stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Great taste- the sherry really works. Great for leftover ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Venice, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
This soup is amazing IF it's served with a dollop of fresh home-made salsa on the top of it. The combination of the comforting gloopy warmth of the soup contrasting with the fresh crunchy zing of the salsa make it one of my favourite dishes ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States