Patty's Mom's Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
This is a great recipe. I did modify, as suggested by others, adding 1 chopped green pepper, 1 t oregano, and 2 t cumin. I put all ingredients together in crock pot ( didn't even soak the beans ) , substituting 4 cups chicken broth for half the water, and adding the onions, celery, and 3 garlic cloves minced after sautéing. I was in a hurry so I put crock pot on high for first 3 hours, then low. It was done in about 5 hours. Great recipe! The ham was good on Easter, but cooked this way it was amazing! And the meat just falls off the ham hock !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
I followed the recipe to the "T", with the exception of using smoked neck bones. The soup smelled great, but I didn't taste the smoke, and the dry sherry I used overpowered the rest of it. Hubby and I each managed to finish one bowl, and the rest went down the drain...something we never do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
We just finished having this for dinner. It is excellent! At the suggestion of some of the reviewers I made the following changes: I added 2 tsp of ground cumin; 3 cloves garlic, chopped; and 1 tsp dried oregano. In addition I substituted unsalted butter for margarine, 4 cups of packaged vegetable stock for half the water and I used two ham hocks instead of one. I omitted the salt. I added cream sherry, not dry sherry, at the end, which really does make this tasty. I garnished with a diced, fresh red pepper. We ate it over rice. The cook times are perfect here. I set my beans soaking as soon as I got up this morning and they were ready to go by late afternoon -Lynn
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
Very flavorful. Couldn't find a ham bone but found two pieces of smoked ham with bone still in it and also used some fat back. Very good and hammy. I didn't chop the parsley, I just kind of placed it in the pot and then fished it out before pureeing the soup. I also added one red pepper. Would definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
This was just wonderful! Did everything just as written but only pureed half of the beans in the end to give it some texture. Up'd the black pepper to 1 1/2 t. for our tastes. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
Awesome soup! The sherry really adds flavor. Like some of the reviewers I skipped soaking beans and added 3 cans of rinsed black beans instead. I also substituted chicken stock for the water and added some chopped ham. After blending the soup I added another can of black beans for texture. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
I've never tried making soup from dried beans or from using a leftover ham bone. But this was a great soup to do both of those things with for the first time! My whole family loved it. My kids' couldn't get enough of it and are already asking when we can have it again. I followed the directions as written. But at the end I made a few adjustments because it just tasted like it was missing a level of flavor somehow. I would suggest using some chicken stock or chicken flavor boost packs instead of just adding more and more water. I also added a little cumin, Old Bay seasoning, garlic powder, onion powder and lots more black pepper. It really brought the flavor up to where I thought it should be. I didn't blend any of the soup like it stated. Instead I used the back of the spoon and kind of smashed the beans up against the side of the pot and that gave just enough mashed beans to give it that soup substance. My husband discovered that once it was cooled that it made for a great dip for tortilla chips as well! Can't wait to make this again, definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Holmen, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
Added pumpkin and carrots and beef broth. Good tasting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARITYBOO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
We had this for the second time last night and my husband and kids could not rant and rave enough. My husband has been to culinary school and is hard to impress. I used stock and meat that I froze after our July 4th ham and canned beans. It was still so tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
Watch the salt with a smoked ham shank.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States