Patty's Mashed Turnips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2004
This is a great low carb alternative to mashed potatoes. My husband is on a low carb diet and he loves this! I am not on a low carb diet, but really love it too! Last night I made it with frozen turnips and added chives. yummmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2004
WOW! I literally hated turnips before I made them this way. My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed this! Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2005
I tried this recipe with some hesitation (but I had to use this giant turnip and had no idea what to do with it). I was pleasantly surprised -- I found Patty's mashed turnips more savory than plain mashed potatoes. I actually microwaved the turnip in a little water until it was soft (about 7 min.), then drained it. I also used a butter substitute (not a purist here) and it still turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
I made these for my husband for Thanksgiving! He loves turnip. I substituted the milk for cream and only used 1/4 cup. They were wonderful. Some previous reviews commented on how runny the turnip was, try reducing the milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
This recipe was quite tasty - we all enjoyed it. We had turkey gravy on it like mashed potatoes, and did that ever taste good together! I used more butter than the recipe called for, and less milk - only adding enough to get the consistency I wanted, as turnip size varies considerably.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2005
Delicious!!! I have never eaten turnips mashed until now. I don't know if I will ever eat them any other way. My husband and I fought over the leftovers. I will definately be making this again and again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2004
I scaled this down for two people and made it for my wife who had never ate turnips before. I don't remember liking them much when I was growing up but I wanted to make an old fashioned country dinner for her. When Grandma used to make turnips, she would serve sliced. I don't remember them tasting so good when I was growing up but we both like these and we could have eaten more than I made! I'll definately be naking this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROOKIE COOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Stone Gap, Virginia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
i hated these (cooked this way)when i was a child..then my mother-in-law made them and made mashed potatoes and mixed the two together, and i could've eaten the whole bowl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2003
Wow!! These are truly amazing! I had these for the first time over a friends house and I used this recipe for Thanksgiving dinner. Many of my family members never tried these but trust me when I say that they did not last for the next day's leftovers. I did add parsley for some color and that worked well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marlton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
This recipe is as good as a mashed turnip recipe can get! Perfect proportions of the ingredients for delicious mashed turnips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Garlic Mashed Cauliflower

Smooth, creamy, low-carb mashed cauliflower is a tasty alternative to potatoes.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States