Patty's Mashed Turnips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
I love turnips. Got lots of compliments on these. I used 1 enormous turnip, it made enough for at least 10 people. I had to adjust the milk and butter to taste. After boiling and draining I returned them to the pot to cook out the remaining/excess water so mine weren't soupy/soggy at all. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
This recipe is as good as a mashed turnip recipe can get! Perfect proportions of the ingredients for delicious mashed turnips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
I made these for my husband for Thanksgiving! He loves turnip. I substituted the milk for cream and only used 1/4 cup. They were wonderful. Some previous reviews commented on how runny the turnip was, try reducing the milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2006
Only so-so for us. But definitely worth a try--especially if you love turnips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Javagoddess

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Westminster, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2006
I agree with another reviewer who had trouble with the turnips. I am new to boiling turnips and mine turned out extremely wet. I wasted a lot of time trying to get some of the excess water out! Perhaps turnips need to be boiled a lot less than potatoes?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Rome, Lazio, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2006
turned out kind of watery, and basically tasted like mashed turnips (no spice or other interesting taste to help it out). Kind of dull.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
This recipe was quite tasty - we all enjoyed it. We had turkey gravy on it like mashed potatoes, and did that ever taste good together! I used more butter than the recipe called for, and less milk - only adding enough to get the consistency I wanted, as turnip size varies considerably.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
i hated these (cooked this way)when i was a child..then my mother-in-law made them and made mashed potatoes and mixed the two together, and i could've eaten the whole bowl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2005
I tried this recipe with some hesitation (but I had to use this giant turnip and had no idea what to do with it). I was pleasantly surprised -- I found Patty's mashed turnips more savory than plain mashed potatoes. I actually microwaved the turnip in a little water until it was soft (about 7 min.), then drained it. I also used a butter substitute (not a purist here) and it still turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2005
I don't know what I'm doing wrong, but every time I make this recipe, it comes out so watery and thin! I have tried and tried to squeeze all of the water out of the cooked turnips but it still just turns into a gloopy mess. I think I'll just stick to pan frying turnips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

Ultimate Mashed Potatoes

Discover the simple secret to the most amazing holiday mashers ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States