Patty's Mashed Turnips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
These are simple and satisfying! Nice change from mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Davie, Florida, USA
Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
Substituted almond milk and olive oil for the milk and butter. Threw in some parsley and rosemary and had a wonderful dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
I had never made turnip before, but my Dad specifically asked me for turnip on Thanksgiving, so I tried this recipe. It was simple and tasted great. I've never been a turnip fan before, but I will definitely make these again. I made this ahead of time because when they cook, turnips smell a bit icky. I just heated it in the microwave when it was time for dinner, and that worked out great, and I had no lingering turnip odor in my kitchen when guests arrived! Thanks for the great recipe, one of the only plain turnip recipes on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
never had turnips before. good recipe. will probably eat again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
My mom liked it a lot that she's going to take some to work. I thought it was a little bland, but the salt and pepper gave it more flavor. It tastes like cabbage, with a little sweet flavor to it, maybe from the milk. It reminds me of porridge because of the texture and it's image.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
I have a recipe that is very similar to this one, but I add a pinch of sugar (maybe 1/4 teaspoon) to the pot of turnip, because turnips can be bitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiger Sand

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Swansea, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
I don't own a ricer or masher, so I used a fork - big mistake. The turnips were stringy. I don't know what happened or if turnips normally taste like this, but they were very sweet too. I will not be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChrissyLady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
This was very bland to me and had a weird consistency. I had a lot of turnips given to me and decided to try this recipe. I ended up throwing the whole thing out because it tasted terrible...sorry..YUCK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
i used small turnips--boiled them for about an hour. i then added about 3 tbsp good butter (plugra), some salt, and a squirt of milk--no more than a 1/4 cup. i think you need to base the milk added to what it looks like it needs. turned out fantastic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by margaux

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
My husband like them, I didn't care too much for them. One tip, they did turn out runny, so I thickened them with some mashed potato flakes..it worked out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Garlic Mashed Cauliflower

Smooth, creamy, low-carb mashed cauliflower is a tasty alternative to potatoes.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States