Patty's Mashed Turnips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
These are simple and satisfying! Nice change from mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Davie, Florida, USA
Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
Substituted almond milk and olive oil for the milk and butter. Threw in some parsley and rosemary and had a wonderful dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
I had never made turnip before, but my Dad specifically asked me for turnip on Thanksgiving, so I tried this recipe. It was simple and tasted great. I've never been a turnip fan before, but I will definitely make these again. I made this ahead of time because when they cook, turnips smell a bit icky. I just heated it in the microwave when it was time for dinner, and that worked out great, and I had no lingering turnip odor in my kitchen when guests arrived! Thanks for the great recipe, one of the only plain turnip recipes on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
never had turnips before. good recipe. will probably eat again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
My mom liked it a lot that she's going to take some to work. I thought it was a little bland, but the salt and pepper gave it more flavor. It tastes like cabbage, with a little sweet flavor to it, maybe from the milk. It reminds me of porridge because of the texture and it's image.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
I have a recipe that is very similar to this one, but I add a pinch of sugar (maybe 1/4 teaspoon) to the pot of turnip, because turnips can be bitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiger Sand

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Swansea, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
I don't own a ricer or masher, so I used a fork - big mistake. The turnips were stringy. I don't know what happened or if turnips normally taste like this, but they were very sweet too. I will not be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChrissyLady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
This was very bland to me and had a weird consistency. I had a lot of turnips given to me and decided to try this recipe. I ended up throwing the whole thing out because it tasted terrible...sorry..YUCK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
i used small turnips--boiled them for about an hour. i then added about 3 tbsp good butter (plugra), some salt, and a squirt of milk--no more than a 1/4 cup. i think you need to base the milk added to what it looks like it needs. turned out fantastic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by margaux

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
My husband like them, I didn't care too much for them. One tip, they did turn out runny, so I thickened them with some mashed potato flakes..it worked out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Garlic Mashed Cauliflower

Smooth, creamy, low-carb mashed cauliflower is a tasty alternative to potatoes.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States