Patty's Mashed Turnips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2003
Wow!! These are truly amazing! I had these for the first time over a friends house and I used this recipe for Thanksgiving dinner. Many of my family members never tried these but trust me when I say that they did not last for the next day's leftovers. I did add parsley for some color and that worked well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marlton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2004
WOW! I literally hated turnips before I made them this way. My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed this! Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2005
I tried this recipe with some hesitation (but I had to use this giant turnip and had no idea what to do with it). I was pleasantly surprised -- I found Patty's mashed turnips more savory than plain mashed potatoes. I actually microwaved the turnip in a little water until it was soft (about 7 min.), then drained it. I also used a butter substitute (not a purist here) and it still turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
I made these for my husband for Thanksgiving! He loves turnip. I substituted the milk for cream and only used 1/4 cup. They were wonderful. Some previous reviews commented on how runny the turnip was, try reducing the milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2004
This is a great low carb alternative to mashed potatoes. My husband is on a low carb diet and he loves this! I am not on a low carb diet, but really love it too! Last night I made it with frozen turnips and added chives. yummmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2005
Delicious!!! I have never eaten turnips mashed until now. I don't know if I will ever eat them any other way. My husband and I fought over the leftovers. I will definately be making this again and again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
This recipe was quite tasty - we all enjoyed it. We had turkey gravy on it like mashed potatoes, and did that ever taste good together! I used more butter than the recipe called for, and less milk - only adding enough to get the consistency I wanted, as turnip size varies considerably.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2004
I scaled this down for two people and made it for my wife who had never ate turnips before. I don't remember liking them much when I was growing up but I wanted to make an old fashioned country dinner for her. When Grandma used to make turnips, she would serve sliced. I don't remember them tasting so good when I was growing up but we both like these and we could have eaten more than I made! I'll definately be naking this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROOKIE COOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Stone Gap, Virginia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
i hated these (cooked this way)when i was a child..then my mother-in-law made them and made mashed potatoes and mixed the two together, and i could've eaten the whole bowl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
This recipe is as good as a mashed turnip recipe can get! Perfect proportions of the ingredients for delicious mashed turnips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Garlic Mashed Cauliflower

Smooth, creamy, low-carb mashed cauliflower is a tasty alternative to potatoes.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States