Patty's Mashed Turnips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2000
My husband and I are on a low-carb diet - turnips are very low carb - so I decided to fix this. I'm normally not fond of turnips, but this recipe is excellent - it reminds me of mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
I made these for my husband for Thanksgiving! He loves turnip. I substituted the milk for cream and only used 1/4 cup. They were wonderful. Some previous reviews commented on how runny the turnip was, try reducing the milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2002
I love this but no one else at home will eat it, so I scale it down to one portion. It smells a bit, too, so if you're having guests, I would not suggest cooking this dish! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
These were quite tasty. Like other posters, I added butter as if making mashed potatoes, and ended up using just a "splurt" of half and half. Turnips, by nature, have a very high water content, and so I see why others felt they were runny. I mashed them in the pot, with the butter and tiny amount of cream, and then turned the burner back up to medium to reduce the excess liquid before serving. That worked out quite well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Elyria, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
I love turnips. Got lots of compliments on these. I used 1 enormous turnip, it made enough for at least 10 people. I had to adjust the milk and butter to taste. After boiling and draining I returned them to the pot to cook out the remaining/excess water so mine weren't soupy/soggy at all. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2000
Very yummy. I use a little more butter than the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2005
I tried this recipe with some hesitation (but I had to use this giant turnip and had no idea what to do with it). I was pleasantly surprised -- I found Patty's mashed turnips more savory than plain mashed potatoes. I actually microwaved the turnip in a little water until it was soft (about 7 min.), then drained it. I also used a butter substitute (not a purist here) and it still turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2003
Wow!! These are truly amazing! I had these for the first time over a friends house and I used this recipe for Thanksgiving dinner. Many of my family members never tried these but trust me when I say that they did not last for the next day's leftovers. I did add parsley for some color and that worked well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marlton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2004
This is a great low carb alternative to mashed potatoes. My husband is on a low carb diet and he loves this! I am not on a low carb diet, but really love it too! Last night I made it with frozen turnips and added chives. yummmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
This recipe was quite tasty - we all enjoyed it. We had turkey gravy on it like mashed potatoes, and did that ever taste good together! I used more butter than the recipe called for, and less milk - only adding enough to get the consistency I wanted, as turnip size varies considerably.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Garlic Mashed Cauliflower

Smooth, creamy, low-carb mashed cauliflower is a tasty alternative to potatoes.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States