Patty's Mashed Turnips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2005
Delicious!!! I have never eaten turnips mashed until now. I don't know if I will ever eat them any other way. My husband and I fought over the leftovers. I will definately be making this again and again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2004
I scaled this down for two people and made it for my wife who had never ate turnips before. I don't remember liking them much when I was growing up but I wanted to make an old fashioned country dinner for her. When Grandma used to make turnips, she would serve sliced. I don't remember them tasting so good when I was growing up but we both like these and we could have eaten more than I made! I'll definately be naking this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROOKIE COOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Stone Gap, Virginia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2004
This is a great low carb alternative to mashed potatoes. My husband is on a low carb diet and he loves this! I am not on a low carb diet, but really love it too! Last night I made it with frozen turnips and added chives. yummmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2004
WOW! I literally hated turnips before I made them this way. My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed this! Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2003
Wow!! These are truly amazing! I had these for the first time over a friends house and I used this recipe for Thanksgiving dinner. Many of my family members never tried these but trust me when I say that they did not last for the next day's leftovers. I did add parsley for some color and that worked well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marlton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2002
I love this but no one else at home will eat it, so I scale it down to one portion. It smells a bit, too, so if you're having guests, I would not suggest cooking this dish! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2000
Very yummy. I use a little more butter than the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2000
My husband and I are on a low-carb diet - turnips are very low carb - so I decided to fix this. I'm normally not fond of turnips, but this recipe is excellent - it reminds me of mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-38 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Garlic Mashed Cauliflower

Smooth, creamy, low-carb mashed cauliflower is a tasty alternative to potatoes.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States