Patty's Mashed Turnips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
I love turnips. Got lots of compliments on these. I used 1 enormous turnip, it made enough for at least 10 people. I had to adjust the milk and butter to taste. After boiling and draining I returned them to the pot to cook out the remaining/excess water so mine weren't soupy/soggy at all. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
This recipe is as good as a mashed turnip recipe can get! Perfect proportions of the ingredients for delicious mashed turnips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
I made these for my husband for Thanksgiving! He loves turnip. I substituted the milk for cream and only used 1/4 cup. They were wonderful. Some previous reviews commented on how runny the turnip was, try reducing the milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2006
Only so-so for us. But definitely worth a try--especially if you love turnips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Javagoddess

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Westminster, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2006
I agree with another reviewer who had trouble with the turnips. I am new to boiling turnips and mine turned out extremely wet. I wasted a lot of time trying to get some of the excess water out! Perhaps turnips need to be boiled a lot less than potatoes?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Rome, Lazio, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2006
turned out kind of watery, and basically tasted like mashed turnips (no spice or other interesting taste to help it out). Kind of dull.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
This recipe was quite tasty - we all enjoyed it. We had turkey gravy on it like mashed potatoes, and did that ever taste good together! I used more butter than the recipe called for, and less milk - only adding enough to get the consistency I wanted, as turnip size varies considerably.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
i hated these (cooked this way)when i was a child..then my mother-in-law made them and made mashed potatoes and mixed the two together, and i could've eaten the whole bowl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2005
I tried this recipe with some hesitation (but I had to use this giant turnip and had no idea what to do with it). I was pleasantly surprised -- I found Patty's mashed turnips more savory than plain mashed potatoes. I actually microwaved the turnip in a little water until it was soft (about 7 min.), then drained it. I also used a butter substitute (not a purist here) and it still turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2005
I don't know what I'm doing wrong, but every time I make this recipe, it comes out so watery and thin! I have tried and tried to squeeze all of the water out of the cooked turnips but it still just turns into a gloopy mess. I think I'll just stick to pan frying turnips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Garlic Mashed Cauliflower

Smooth, creamy, low-carb mashed cauliflower is a tasty alternative to potatoes.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States