Patty's Mashed Turnips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by BigShotsMom
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2015
Turnips retain a good amount of the water they boil in so I suggest mashing without adding anything, draining the released water and then adding the butter, just a bit of milk, S&P, and I like to also add a pinch of nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
in order to have the perfect consistancy of mashed potatoes from turnips, you have to strain out all excise liquid even after mashing. Best results is to strain mashed turnips in an screen-type strainer, all excise liquids will just drip through, not drying out the vegetable, transfer back into bowl, then continue on with your own recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
This is a good base for many great recipes. I made two variations today. I diced and boiled 8 turnips and a large carrot. Drained in a colander for 15 minutes. I mashed the turnips and carrots with 4 TBS butter. Milk was on hand but was never needed. Then separated 1/3 of the mix and added 1 TSP nutmeg. The other 2/3, I mixed with 1 TSP garlic and 1 TSP basil. I baked both casseroles for 12 minutes covered and 8 minutes uncovered at 375°. Could have just baked 15-20 minutes, without uncovering. Both dishes turned out very different but equally delicious. Slight edge goes to the nutmeg for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charles Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
Great! To solve the watery problem, the them hang out in the collander and drain for at least 20 minutes. Use heavy cream and real butter, zero carbs in both. Put the butter in the pot and simmer it until most of the water evaporates. Takes time but worth it. Higher heat will burn butter. Add the cream to the butter mainly to warm it. Add turnips, mash to desired size, season to taste. If too thick, you can thin with chicken broth or even water. Deelish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
I liked these, but my family did not. I didn't use any milk, but they were still a bit too watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
You can add half and half or cream to lower your carbs instead of using milk... and also too you can make them loaded by adding cheese and bacon.. or use a little less liquid and add some sour cream to them...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
It was good, I only added 1/2 cup of milk as prior reviewers suggested. I also added a few small potatoes. It was good, a little sweeter taste than mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Nice taste, pretty runny though even w/ just 1/4 cup of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chuck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
These were fantastic! We harvested turnips from our own garden and couldn't figure out what to do with them. I have made this recipe a few times now. Some with mashed potatoes some not. This is definitly going to be a new staple in our dinner plans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PitBoss007

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Clearwater, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
Turnips are very watery so be careful what you add into it. I added some butter and salt and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Haven, Missouri, USA
Living In: Arnold, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Garlic Mashed Cauliflower

Smooth, creamy, low-carb mashed cauliflower is a tasty alternative to potatoes.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States