Patty Melt on Pumpernickel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
I have been wanting to make this recipe for a while but I never had the pumpernickel or rye bread on hand. I finally decided to make my own bread using the perfect bread found on this site. (Caraway Rye bread by BramptonMommyof2). I was never a fan of steak sauce until I tried a store brand (Kroger's). It is a sweet and spicy type steak sauce which worked perfectly with this recipe. Using my thumb, I indented the center of each patty to help with even cooking and to keep its shape. The patties were wonderfully juicy and tasty. Putting it altogether with the spices, onions, Swiss cheese and freshly made rye bread was excellent. And I even had Clorox wipes on-hand to clean up my mess afterwards. Thanks Clorox, this is an outstanding sandwich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bambam
Photo by Cynthia Ross
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
What's better than a diner classic when the cold weather comes around? Made this classic sandwich using Johnsonville brand Sweet Italian Sausage. Substituted ketchup for the steak sauce and mayo on the bread for the butter. It was a crispy, crunchy, gooey, savory blend of goodness. Try this classic with sausage. It's a great update.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia Ross

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beverly Hills, California, USA
Living In: San Angelo, Texas, USA
Photo by Patty Cakes
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
Only 4 stars cuz of all my changes. Sorry, but this recipe deserves 10 stars!! These sammies were AWESOME!! First of all I used Johnsonville's Bratwurst & spicy Italian sausages in place of the hamburger. Excellent choice if I do say so myself:)If that's not proof enough, my 19 yo DS ate 2 of them!! I also used soy sauce in place of the steak sauce and left out the oregano cuz I had a blond moment and forgot. The cheese I used was habanero jack, full flavored w/o a lot of heat. Trust me, I am barely up to jalapeno status and this cheese is FAB! Rye bread along with pickles make this a Winner any night of the week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Photo by Kraig
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
Hardly have ever had patty melts before. Found it tasty and a refreshing change from a normal barbecued burger on a bun. One thing I did change was using generic spray kitchen cleaner with bleach and wash rag to clean up instead of the clorox wipes ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kraig

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: American Falls, Idaho, USA
Living In: Chubbuck, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
The sandwiches were good but a little dry, maybe they needed the half TBL of steak sauce per burger, but I'm not fond of it. Never having made a patty melt before this is what I learned. The basic method of buttering your bread works just fine, no need to melt the butter first; use more onions than called for here; and make sure the cheese isn't thin sliced. I thought with the two slices it would be enough but it was barely noticeable. The onions were not enough moisture for me, I would use a sauce on the sandwich (not in the meat) next time. Maybe just some mustard, but something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda2d

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
Delicious! I have never made or eaten a patty melt, so this was a wonderful treat for us. I omitted the oregano from the meat mixture and used marble rye bread...this is a keeper~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
While I found #5 in the directions off putting (“Cleaning tip: Once the stove top is cool, wipe up any oil splatters or spills with Chlorox Disinfecting Wipes), it wasn’t enough to dampen my enthusiasm for this recipe. It is, of course, “only” a classic patty melt sandwich, but I was particularly intrigued by the steak sauce (I used A1) mixed into the meat. It was just barely noticeable, and pleasantly so. I could not bring myself to add the oregano. The instruction to cook the onion over low heat for a good 20 minutes was important. As the onions cooked down, caramelizing in their own sugars, they reduced into something smooth and richly flavored, a major contribution to the sandwich. The step of melting the butter before spreading it on the bread wasn't necessary – softened butter works just fine! Hubs likes neither rye bread nor Swiss cheese but agreed to tolerate this sandwich. He “suffered” through it with some homemade Thousand Island dressing on the side – a nice complement I must say! This sandwich, along with a bowl of “Winter Leek and Potato Soup,” also from this site, made for a delicious and satisfying meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
The ground beef mixture made a good burger. Pretty much just a standard patty melt, but we enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Melt in your Mouth Meatloaf

See how to make delicious meatloaf in the slow cooker.

How to Make a Tuna Melt

Watch Chef John make the world’s tastiest tuna melt.

How to Make a Reuben

Make a deli-worthy toasted Reuben in your own kitchen. It’s fast and easy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States