Patti's Mussels a la Mariniere Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 15, 2011
Excellent as is, or make it a red sauce by adding about a 1/4 cup of tomato sauce. Either way, a great recipe that everyone enjoys at home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pallonia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
ALMOST as good as the restaurant's version. Very tasty but I still think the restaurant version is just a wee bit better. I think with a little more tweaking, I can make it as good as the restaurants. I used a can of diced tomatoes, extra garlic and a little extra wine (1 and 1/4 cup of wine and 3/4 cup of chicken broth). The broth is very flavorful...I think I should have added a dash more salt. I served it over pasta and it doesn't taste good that way. The flavor just disappears. Eating with bread is much better. Easy dinner to impress guests with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PINKXG1RL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Heather
Reviewed: May 3, 2011
This was wonderful never made mussels before but my husband and I tried it together (and drink while cooking lol) anyways followed full recipe, but we served over pasta and had garlic bread! Will def do again! Either we are super drunk or it is that amazing! posted pic! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairport, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Was it as outstanding as my favorite French restaurant's mussels? Probably not but it's d@mn good and a fraction of the cost--and since it has no heavy cream a tad healthier. I'm glad I got over my fear of handling the shellfish (used directions found on this site to prep mussles--easier than I expected, btw). Make sure you have good French bread to sop up the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
I tried this recipe last night and for starters it was awesome. I do like my sauce more red, thick, and spicy so I added: 1 cup of ragu meat flavored old fashioned sauce 1/2 cup of chicken broth used red wine instead of white wine added twice the amount butter also added 1/2 cup red crushed peppers My 13 year old son, and my 21 year old son with his 19 year old girl friend loved it. We killed all the mussles (+50) and finished the left over suace with a large roll of bread. We had a feast and it was as good as any we have had in many south jersey and philadelpia restaurants... where we learned how to enjoy them. thank you for the jump statrt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by James

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lindsay, California, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
I added more garlic...8 cloves, 6 green onions, half a teaspoon red pepper flakes, 4 shallots and 2 tablespoons garlic chili paste. Had to do the cajun spin with the spice. They were so good and not over spicy for us. Her cooking times were just right. My husband loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Laura
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
The best mussels recipe I've tried! I substituted one can of diced tomatoes for the Roma tomatoes but followed the rest of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
This was amazing..first time making mussels. I did chicken stock in place of wine and add jalapeno for spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
So amazing! I also waited until right before I put the mussels in to add the green onions, tomatoes and parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
This was fantastic!! I used frozen mussels in the shell and that was the only thing I changed. Will definitely make again! Thanks for the wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laurita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Mussels in a Fennel & White Wine Broth

See how to make mussels cooked in a fennel and white wine broth.

How to Make Drunken Mussels

See how to make quick, delicious mussels steamed in white wine.

Thai Steamed Mussels

These delicious, Thai-inspired steamed mussels are ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States