Patti's Mussels a la Mariniere Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
Delicious! I've made this so many times and love it more and more. Sometimes I add pasta, sometimes just crusty bread, but this is always delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
AMAZING
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
I don't eat shellfish myself, but I used this recipe to make mussels for dinner for my husband's birthday. He loved it! He raved about the sauce. Thanks for sharing this recipe....so easy. Next time my husband wants seafood I won't be so intimidated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J Morgan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Riverside, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
I think my dissatisfaction with tis recipe could be chalked up to user error. The mussels were perfectly cooked but the broth was too "sharp". I used a pinot grigio as that was what we had on hand and the flavor never mellowed out. Maybe I needed to cook longer or use a Chardonnay?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jscherer
Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Covington, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
Delicious recipe, my company loved it! I doubled the sauce and even then it wasn't quite that much. I recommend using butter as well instead of olive oil to give it a little more richness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moROCKINchef

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
Excellent as is, or make it a red sauce by adding about a 1/4 cup of tomato sauce. Either way, a great recipe that everyone enjoys at home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pallonia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
ALMOST as good as the restaurant's version. Very tasty but I still think the restaurant version is just a wee bit better. I think with a little more tweaking, I can make it as good as the restaurants. I used a can of diced tomatoes, extra garlic and a little extra wine (1 and 1/4 cup of wine and 3/4 cup of chicken broth). The broth is very flavorful...I think I should have added a dash more salt. I served it over pasta and it doesn't taste good that way. The flavor just disappears. Eating with bread is much better. Easy dinner to impress guests with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PINKXG1RL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Heather
Reviewed: May 3, 2011
This was wonderful never made mussels before but my husband and I tried it together (and drink while cooking lol) anyways followed full recipe, but we served over pasta and had garlic bread! Will def do again! Either we are super drunk or it is that amazing! posted pic! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairport, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Was it as outstanding as my favorite French restaurant's mussels? Probably not but it's d@mn good and a fraction of the cost--and since it has no heavy cream a tad healthier. I'm glad I got over my fear of handling the shellfish (used directions found on this site to prep mussles--easier than I expected, btw). Make sure you have good French bread to sop up the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
I tried this recipe last night and for starters it was awesome. I do like my sauce more red, thick, and spicy so I added: 1 cup of ragu meat flavored old fashioned sauce 1/2 cup of chicken broth used red wine instead of white wine added twice the amount butter also added 1/2 cup red crushed peppers My 13 year old son, and my 21 year old son with his 19 year old girl friend loved it. We killed all the mussles (+50) and finished the left over suace with a large roll of bread. We had a feast and it was as good as any we have had in many south jersey and philadelpia restaurants... where we learned how to enjoy them. thank you for the jump statrt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by James

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lindsay, California, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 213) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mussels in a Fennel & White Wine Broth

See how to make mussels cooked in a fennel and white wine broth.

How to Make Drunken Mussels

See how to make quick, delicious mussels steamed in white wine.

Thai Steamed Mussels

These delicious, Thai-inspired steamed mussels are ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States