Patti's Mussels a la Mariniere Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Added celery, tomatoes, and a little cream. Added maybe a third more vegetables and broth. Also cooked a little more than the recipe said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
To Patti, GREAT RECIPE! Very appealing to furniture chewing toddlers, bikers, snobs and polititions. To Tippy, you ARE scientifically corect! Good catch! You made a great recipe even greater. This recipe will rock anyones world that likes mussels. Get a baguette, slice it thin and toast it and sop up all the goodness! ROCKS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SpicyCyclist

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Hempstead, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
This is perfect! Didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Summersville, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
I followed the recipe except that I doubled the sauce, garlic, and added the tomatoes towards the end as suggested in other reviews and it was very good. I usually don't like mussels that much (made if for husband) but loved them this way. The sauce goes great with whole wheat pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whitney Ford

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Richardson, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
This recipe is amazingly good! I was kind of nervous because it was my first time making mussels but it turned out better than any mussels I ever had in a restaurant. I added mushrooms that I had left over. I only added a handful of tomatoes and onions at the beginning as instructed. The rest I added right before I put the mussels in so the sauce definitely kept more flavor when served. I served this over french fries letting some of the juice soak into the fries - yummy! The rest of the leftover sauce I saved to pour over pasta for a different meal day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
absolutely wonderful! Our first time to cook mussels at home. Will def do this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Swaneeramsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: Sumter, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
use a good wine for this recipe; it's definitely worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fargo, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Sherbrooke, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
very good! the sauce is very tasty and i ate it on top of a bed of linguini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
A great quick dinner and a great basic sauce for a mussels dish. I used an inexpensive chardonnay. Pair with linguini, a thin spaghetti or, just crusty bread. I only used about 35 mussels, for 4 servings (with pasta). As other commenters have said, I would double the sauce ingredients, because of the reduction, there's just not much sauce left for sopping up with the bread. Double: the garlic (and then maybe add 3 more cloves), the wine, butter, tomatoes and onion. The parsley seems enough. Do add the onions and parsley in the last 5 min or so and save a little to add as garnish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
Best Mussels ever! I added fresh basil, cilantro and some crushed tomatoes. Delicious!! Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 213) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mussels in a Fennel & White Wine Broth

See how to make mussels cooked in a fennel and white wine broth.

How to Make Drunken Mussels

See how to make quick, delicious mussels steamed in white wine.

Thai Steamed Mussels

These delicious, Thai-inspired steamed mussels are ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States