Patti's Mussels a la Mariniere Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Added celery, tomatoes, and a little cream. Added maybe a third more vegetables and broth. Also cooked a little more than the recipe said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
To Patti, GREAT RECIPE! Very appealing to furniture chewing toddlers, bikers, snobs and polititions. To Tippy, you ARE scientifically corect! Good catch! You made a great recipe even greater. This recipe will rock anyones world that likes mussels. Get a baguette, slice it thin and toast it and sop up all the goodness! ROCKS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SpicyCyclist

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Hempstead, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
This is perfect! Didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Summersville, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
I followed the recipe except that I doubled the sauce, garlic, and added the tomatoes towards the end as suggested in other reviews and it was very good. I usually don't like mussels that much (made if for husband) but loved them this way. The sauce goes great with whole wheat pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whitney Ford

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Richardson, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
This recipe is amazingly good! I was kind of nervous because it was my first time making mussels but it turned out better than any mussels I ever had in a restaurant. I added mushrooms that I had left over. I only added a handful of tomatoes and onions at the beginning as instructed. The rest I added right before I put the mussels in so the sauce definitely kept more flavor when served. I served this over french fries letting some of the juice soak into the fries - yummy! The rest of the leftover sauce I saved to pour over pasta for a different meal day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
absolutely wonderful! Our first time to cook mussels at home. Will def do this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Swaneeramsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: Sumter, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
use a good wine for this recipe; it's definitely worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fargo, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Sherbrooke, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
very good! the sauce is very tasty and i ate it on top of a bed of linguini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
A great quick dinner and a great basic sauce for a mussels dish. I used an inexpensive chardonnay. Pair with linguini, a thin spaghetti or, just crusty bread. I only used about 35 mussels, for 4 servings (with pasta). As other commenters have said, I would double the sauce ingredients, because of the reduction, there's just not much sauce left for sopping up with the bread. Double: the garlic (and then maybe add 3 more cloves), the wine, butter, tomatoes and onion. The parsley seems enough. Do add the onions and parsley in the last 5 min or so and save a little to add as garnish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
Best Mussels ever! I added fresh basil, cilantro and some crushed tomatoes. Delicious!! Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 213) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mussels in a Fennel & White Wine Broth

See how to make mussels cooked in a fennel and white wine broth.

How to Make Drunken Mussels

See how to make quick, delicious mussels steamed in white wine.

Thai Steamed Mussels

These delicious, Thai-inspired steamed mussels are ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States