Patti's Mussels a la Mariniere Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
Add creme fraiche and thyme for more amazing taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
I followed the recipe exactly and it was brilliant! My girlfriend loved it as well. She suggested kicking it up a notch by adding a little spicy flavor which I will try next the next time I cook this meal again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joe e.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
This dish was fantastic! We serve it with guests frequently. We've tried other mussel recipes but this one keeps rising to the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
I cannot express just how good, how easy, and how addaptable this recipe is! It's always a little different depending what i have on hand. I buy the frozen mussels at "big box store".I think its a 2lb bag, with two bags inside. Each interior bag feeds two. I decided to make it into a simple pasta dish. First,put on a pot of boiling water for the pasta. I used angel hair and seasoned mine with tomato bullion. Gives the pasta not only a great flavor, but a great color. Started with a half of a small diced onion, sauteed that in olive oil till transparent. Added all the garlic, sauteed just for a minute longer. Then dumped in an entire can of petite diced tomatos (just using what i had on hand and for quickness factor), juice and all. Also, i added the zest and juice from half a lemon. And seasoned with garlic salt, black pepper, and red pepper flakes too taste. I didn't have green onions on hand last night, but they are great too. This is also a good time to chop a couple of mushrooms and throw those in too if you have them. Then once this starts to get bubbly i add the wine and the parsley. Let this simmer and reduce by half, uncovered. Once done i then put my pasta on to boil, as it only takes about six minutes. I dump the mussels in the sauce, and cover. It says about ten minutes. When the pasta is done, i drain it, then throw it in the pan with the sauce and mussels to let it absord a bit on the sauce. Then Serve! And you will be very pleased!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Smith, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
Used merlot, 1/2 white onion, dried parsley, 1/2 oil, three large spoonfuls of crushed tomotoes. Amazing recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
Bed mussels!! I made a few changes though as I have made this recipe at least 10 times. Added a small onion and 2 jalapeño peppers. Sautéed them itch the garlic at the start. Still used green onion as well. Delicious. It was spicy but so flavorful. I used the mussels from costco In a big package. It's enough for 3-4 people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
Awesome recipe for any mussel lover out there. I added some thinly sliced red peppers, a handful of mushrooms and some fresh basil to the mix prior to dropping in the mussels. Add a fresh french baguette, some wine and you're set. Thanks Patti :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
This is my one & only "go-to" mussel recipe!! I have been using it for years & it never disappoints...me or my company!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
I`ve made this recipe at least 5 times now, and I`m always thrilled with it. It`s really versatile and I often use it as a base for cooking other seafood dishes. I tend to add sliced leek in with the garlic and sweat them for a few minutes longer than the recipe suggests. I also like to use a bit of extra wine. At the point where you add the mussels, I like to throw a few peices of cod or sole at the bottom, followed by some prawns, then the mussels on top. That was the mussels steam nicely out of the sauce, and you get a great seafood dish that is amazing over pasta! Love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
This was my first time cooking mussels and I was slightly freaked out... the prep/cleaning felt like a lot of work and I had to throw out about 1/3 of mine because I didn't know to take them out of the plastic bags to breathe. Other than that, the cooking is easy and this makes a delicious sauce. I doubled the sauce ingredients, and used and entire head of garlic. Also had to cook the sauce much longer to get rid of the alcohol taste. It did turn out yummy though.. good with bread and over pasta with fresh grated parm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Valley, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mussels in a Fennel & White Wine Broth

See how to make mussels cooked in a fennel and white wine broth.

How to Make Drunken Mussels

See how to make quick, delicious mussels steamed in white wine.

Thai Steamed Mussels

These delicious, Thai-inspired steamed mussels are ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States