Patti's Mussels a la Mariniere Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
This recipe is excellent the only problem was that the sauce was not enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robert Smith

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bainbridge, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Felix Bashinsky

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
Excellent recipe! Great flavor without overwhelming the taste of the mussels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
I am new to cooking mussels myself, but this was a great start in finding what i liked when eating mussels. The first time i made this recipe i did just about perfect this recipe. Afterwards i added some red pepper flakes for some spiciness. The best thing about this recipe is that it can be made on a smaller budget with a "ritzy" feel. Adding a pasta is simple, and best bread is a fresh french baguette (mussels will not last long in the fridge and neither will french bread, max 2-2.5days)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
I have to admit that this review is based on hearsay, since I don't eat shellfish, but my husband, son and F-I-L all raved about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Very good, better than one my favorite restaurants. I did substitute the tomatoes with restaurant style salsa
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Very good recipe, but the cook time was misleading. The actual cook time is 25 min, prep time 10-15, and you have to give yourself time for the mussels to rinse in the water. Like other reviewers, I doubled the sauce, which was excellent. The mussels themselves didn't absorb any of the sauce, so unless you get a good scoop of sauce they were bland. I'm not a great cook, so it could've been my techique. We served the dish over polenta and would definately do that again. We had leftover sauce and will use that with chicken tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
We love mussels and I usually make them with coconut milk and Thai red chili but decided to try something new. I don't cook with wine so I used clam juice and the juice of 1/2 a large lemon. Wonderful this way - it had the slight tartness you'd get from white wine. I also used some canned chopped tomatoes which I drained first. I also added my parsley later and tossed some on top as a garnish. BUT either my husband and I are absolute pigs or this recipe doesn't feed 6 unless you serve it as a sauce over pasta. I'd say this serves 3-4 mussel lovers as a main course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milpitas, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
We enjoy mussels at a couple of restaurants but we used this recipe for our first attempt at making them ourselves. I obsessed over cleaning them which took a while. The only changes we made to the broth were to add more wine (b/c we had more like 60 than 50 mussels), more garlic, and about 1/4 c of tomato sauce to make it more tomatoey. It was really great, as good if not better than the restaurants!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
We liked this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 213) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mussels in a Fennel & White Wine Broth

See how to make mussels cooked in a fennel and white wine broth.

How to Make Drunken Mussels

See how to make quick, delicious mussels steamed in white wine.

Thai Steamed Mussels

These delicious, Thai-inspired steamed mussels are ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States