Patti's Mussels a la Mariniere Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
Very good recipe. I followed the directions on my first dish, but with the 2nd I had to make several revisions. I doubled the sauce, I added more chopped garlic, cooked it in my favorite chardonnay, (use your favorite white wine) and cooked it to a reduction, (about 15 mins on high) I put in the chopped tomatos and cooked it for 4-5 mins before adding in the mussels and covering the pot with a lid, 5 mins into the mussels cooking I threw in the green onions and parsley, stirred it around and covered it for an additional 5 mins before it was done. I found that if you added the green onions, parsley and tomato too soon like the recipe calls for, you lose the flavor of all. In adding the veggies close to serving it keeps all of the natural flavors in. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
316 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tippy

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Palmyra, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
Best mussels we ever had! This was the first time I made mussels and was a little nervous. They ended up dazzling us and we both agreed they were better than any restaurant's. So, I had to do a little research, but here's what I learned (after I had to throw away about 25% of the mussels I bought). As a rookie, I didn't realize you have to 'air' out the mussels- as in, keep them cold but make sure they get air. I looked up how to debeard them (you can find it on this site). As for the recipe itself, sooooo good! I would add a few extra tomatoes and don't skip the 'salt to taste' step (I forgot and it was better with a little bit of salt). Serve with the crustiest bread you can find and drink the wine as you cook :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
134 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2006
Absolutely delicious! I doubled the sauce and served over linguini, and I highly recommend serving it this way. I also add a little more garlic than is called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WISEREADER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
Very good- I doubled the ingredients for the sauce and used about 35 mussels. Also, I replaced the chopped roma tomatoes with a can of fire roasted diced tomotoes to add another layer of depth to the flavor. Just a hint to those new at handling mussels- there is a very good chance that if you purchase "farmed" mussels, which are sold in most grocery stores, that they ill have already been debearded. I spent a panicked hour researching this on the net because I could not find the beards to remove. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Darmstadt, Hessen, Germany
Living In: Parrish, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2007
Of all the mussels recipes, I trusted this one and was not steered wrong! It was amazing, I did substitute one can of diced tomatoes for the 3 plum tomatoes and it was delicious, lots of compliments from my guests! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2006
Awesome recipe! I had never prepared mussels before and these were really simple. I was hoping to duplicate a mussels recipe that a local restaurant makes and this one was REALLY close. I just felt the sauce was lacking a flavor... next time I will double the garlic and add some chicken stock to the wine, maybe add some more tomato. This will be made often and tweaked to my personal tastes. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
This was absolutely amazing and better than the mussels at my favorite restaurant!! I only made some slight variations in the recipe based on what others had recommended: 8 cloves of minced garlic, 3 tbsp butter, 1 1/2c white wine (I used a good chardonnay), and about half a pint of chopped cherry tomatoes instead of the roma tomatoes. I also followed the instructions from another review and added the parsley (I used fresh italian parsley) and onions the last five minutes of cooking. I also think that using fresh mussels is key...and as others have mentioned, be sure to have some good bread because the sauce is amazing!! I will definitely be making this on a regular basis!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melissac21

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2006
Wow! Delicious! I subbed sherry for the wine, yellow onion, a 1/2 14 oz can diced tomatoes because it's all I had in the house and added a splash of half-n-half. Outstanding. I will make it the same way next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
Delicious! I've tried a few other recipes for mussels but this one's a keeper. I'm not a big fan of green onions so I used a chopped shallot instead. These are as good as any I've had in a restaurant. I'll be making these again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2001
I loved this recipe with clams! Also, I added a little Herbes de Provence. Definite crowd pleaser, and so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 209) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mussels in a Fennel & White Wine Broth

See how to make mussels cooked in a fennel and white wine broth.

How to Make Drunken Mussels

See how to make quick, delicious mussels steamed in white wine.

Thai Steamed Mussels

These delicious, Thai-inspired steamed mussels are ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States