Patti's Mussels a la Mariniere Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
This was my first time cooking mussels and I was slightly freaked out... the prep/cleaning felt like a lot of work and I had to throw out about 1/3 of mine because I didn't know to take them out of the plastic bags to breathe. Other than that, the cooking is easy and this makes a delicious sauce. I doubled the sauce ingredients, and used and entire head of garlic. Also had to cook the sauce much longer to get rid of the alcohol taste. It did turn out yummy though.. good with bread and over pasta with fresh grated parm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Valley, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
My husband, adult son and I loved the gravy. I used frozen mussels, olive oil instead of margarine/butter, dry parsely and regular vine ripened tomatoes since that was what we had in the house. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eila

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
We used clams instead of muscles as my family doesn't like muscles as much. Recipe was still excellent and one of my husband's favorite meals that I've pulled off the website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
I made these as written and would give this five stars but changed second time to adjust to our taste. I used 2 lbs. mussels (not sure of the count), Chardonnay for the white wine (use one that you like to drink), instead of green onions used shallots (I like the mellow onion flavor), I don't add parsley until the end of cooking as it lost it's fresh flavor as it cooked in liquid and served with a wedge of lemon to drizzle over mussels. YUM! So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winter Haven, Florida, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
These mussels clearly stand up to any other mussels I have eaten. I don't normally cook w/ wine but I did. I made these as the recipe calls for then I tasted the sauce to wine tasting for me so I added 1/2-1 tsp. of chicken boullion. It helped alot with mellowing the wine down. I also did reduce before tasting to burn off the alchol. Next time I will add half cup of wine and half cup of chicken broth. Got amazing reviews by all that ate these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
These were good but didn't wow me. Be sure to let the mussels soak for more than 20 minutes as ours were still gritty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Added celery, tomatoes, and a little cream. Added maybe a third more vegetables and broth. Also cooked a little more than the recipe said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
To Patti, GREAT RECIPE! Very appealing to furniture chewing toddlers, bikers, snobs and polititions. To Tippy, you ARE scientifically corect! Good catch! You made a great recipe even greater. This recipe will rock anyones world that likes mussels. Get a baguette, slice it thin and toast it and sop up all the goodness! ROCKS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SpicyCyclist

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Hempstead, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
This is perfect! Didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Summersville, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
I followed the recipe except that I doubled the sauce, garlic, and added the tomatoes towards the end as suggested in other reviews and it was very good. I usually don't like mussels that much (made if for husband) but loved them this way. The sauce goes great with whole wheat pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whitney Ford

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Richardson, Texas, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 209) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mussels in a Fennel & White Wine Broth

See how to make mussels cooked in a fennel and white wine broth.

How to Make Drunken Mussels

See how to make quick, delicious mussels steamed in white wine.

Thai Steamed Mussels

These delicious, Thai-inspired steamed mussels are ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States