Patti's Mussels a la Mariniere Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 13, 2012
Bed mussels!! I made a few changes though as I have made this recipe at least 10 times. Added a small onion and 2 jalapeño peppers. Sautéed them itch the garlic at the start. Still used green onion as well. Delicious. It was spicy but so flavorful. I used the mussels from costco In a big package. It's enough for 3-4 people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
Awesome recipe for any mussel lover out there. I added some thinly sliced red peppers, a handful of mushrooms and some fresh basil to the mix prior to dropping in the mussels. Add a fresh french baguette, some wine and you're set. Thanks Patti :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
This is my one & only "go-to" mussel recipe!! I have been using it for years & it never disappoints...me or my company!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
I`ve made this recipe at least 5 times now, and I`m always thrilled with it. It`s really versatile and I often use it as a base for cooking other seafood dishes. I tend to add sliced leek in with the garlic and sweat them for a few minutes longer than the recipe suggests. I also like to use a bit of extra wine. At the point where you add the mussels, I like to throw a few peices of cod or sole at the bottom, followed by some prawns, then the mussels on top. That was the mussels steam nicely out of the sauce, and you get a great seafood dish that is amazing over pasta! Love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
This was my first time cooking mussels and I was slightly freaked out... the prep/cleaning felt like a lot of work and I had to throw out about 1/3 of mine because I didn't know to take them out of the plastic bags to breathe. Other than that, the cooking is easy and this makes a delicious sauce. I doubled the sauce ingredients, and used and entire head of garlic. Also had to cook the sauce much longer to get rid of the alcohol taste. It did turn out yummy though.. good with bread and over pasta with fresh grated parm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Valley, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
My husband, adult son and I loved the gravy. I used frozen mussels, olive oil instead of margarine/butter, dry parsely and regular vine ripened tomatoes since that was what we had in the house. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eila

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
We used clams instead of muscles as my family doesn't like muscles as much. Recipe was still excellent and one of my husband's favorite meals that I've pulled off the website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
I made these as written and would give this five stars but changed second time to adjust to our taste. I used 2 lbs. mussels (not sure of the count), Chardonnay for the white wine (use one that you like to drink), instead of green onions used shallots (I like the mellow onion flavor), I don't add parsley until the end of cooking as it lost it's fresh flavor as it cooked in liquid and served with a wedge of lemon to drizzle over mussels. YUM! So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winter Haven, Florida, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
These mussels clearly stand up to any other mussels I have eaten. I don't normally cook w/ wine but I did. I made these as the recipe calls for then I tasted the sauce to wine tasting for me so I added 1/2-1 tsp. of chicken boullion. It helped alot with mellowing the wine down. I also did reduce before tasting to burn off the alchol. Next time I will add half cup of wine and half cup of chicken broth. Got amazing reviews by all that ate these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
These were good but didn't wow me. Be sure to let the mussels soak for more than 20 minutes as ours were still gritty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 213) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mussels in a Fennel & White Wine Broth

See how to make mussels cooked in a fennel and white wine broth.

How to Make Drunken Mussels

See how to make quick, delicious mussels steamed in white wine.

Thai Steamed Mussels

These delicious, Thai-inspired steamed mussels are ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States