Patti's Mussels a la Mariniere Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
Very good- I doubled the ingredients for the sauce and used about 35 mussels. Also, I replaced the chopped roma tomatoes with a can of fire roasted diced tomotoes to add another layer of depth to the flavor. Just a hint to those new at handling mussels- there is a very good chance that if you purchase "farmed" mussels, which are sold in most grocery stores, that they ill have already been debearded. I spent a panicked hour researching this on the net because I could not find the beards to remove. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Darmstadt, Hessen, Germany
Living In: Parrish, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
This recipe reminds me of one from my favorite Italian resturant.With this recipe I cut the wine in half and used 1/2 cup of chicken broth and to taste some crushed red pepper.I also added some Gulf shrimp.This is to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol604

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newburgh, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
I thought I'd try these out tonight with just 1 lb. of mussels ($3.99/lb at Whole Foods), and I reduced the other amounts accordingly. The directions for cleaning mussels on this site were very helpful since I've only eaten these in restaurants. I'll be sure to make more next time - 1 lb was a very small appetizer size for 2 people, so I'll double to two pounds. Wow, what a fabulous recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
These were absolutely great! I have never made mussels before, but this recipe was easy to follow and was a hit with my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yana

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
Absolutely Wonderful!!! Finally found a good recipe. Wish I had more. But you MUST add 2x the wine and at least 2x butter and 2x could even go with 3x the garlic, I added way less than a fourth of the parsley the recipe tells you to add because I was afraid it would come out too strong of parsley taste , which I was right everything was just perfect. I also used 1 can of diced tomatos. I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christiana

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fairfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
it was really good. planning to make more sauce next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
awsome recipe!!! I left out the tomatoes and added about 1/2 more wine. Better than a restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Barrington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Wauconda, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by studiorouge
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
This recipe came out perfect and was very easy. I followed the suggestion of others and doubled the amounts for the sauce so that I could serve it over linguine. I also added the tomatoes, onions, and parsley after the first reduction. I like a bit of a kick so I also added 1 chopped jalepeno with the garlic. My Husband loved this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by studiorouge

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aliciamaria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, Maine, USA
Living In: Harrison, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 213) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mussels in a Fennel & White Wine Broth

See how to make mussels cooked in a fennel and white wine broth.

How to Make Drunken Mussels

See how to make quick, delicious mussels steamed in white wine.

Thai Steamed Mussels

These delicious, Thai-inspired steamed mussels are ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States