Pat's Simple Penne Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
This was pretty bland but okay. Add some zing and it'd be way better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
I enjoyed the flavor of this pasta...but the bacon lost all of its crispness and became very limp after simmering in the broth. Perhaps cutting the bacon into smaller pieces and only using half in the pasta - the other half as a garnish on top when serving would add to the texture and pleasing appearance of the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
This was a pretty good simple recipe that my family enjoyed (including my 2 year old). I used smoked sausage instead of bacon, and added peas. Both were tasty. It could use a little more flavor, however. I will probably add some garlic with the onion next time. My husband liked it with parmesan cheese, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
This had a good flavor and was super simple...very good for busy weeknights. For that I give it a 4 star! I took it a little further though by jazzing it up a little (aka... made it totally unhealthy/fattening but really tasty - eat in moderation!) by giving it a pinch or two of garlic powder, draining the juices and adding them to cream of chicken soup, a little milk, ground black pepper, adding it back to the penne in a casserole dish, put a mild, white grated cheese on top with a little bit of grated sharp cheddar to give it color... baked it until melted and bubbly. Yum. That made it a FIVE star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Misawa, Aomori, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
This is a yummy dish thats really easy to make. I think that next time, and there will be a next time, I might add some extra tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina Thomas Hand

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glen Burnie, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2005
put in some spinach for extra umph... real simple but it is a nice mix of flavors
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2005
Super easy and tasted good. Family liked it. Not a stellar, serve it for company kind of dish but a good basic easy weeknight dinner. I will certainly make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2005
This was really good. I added small white beans. Spinach would be good also. Quick and healthy-(use your own home-made chicken broth of course)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Penne Pasta with Simple Beef Neck Sauce

See how to make a simple, long-simmering meat sauce for pasta.

Penne Spring Pasta

A gorgeously green spring pasta with asparagus, peas, and fresh mint.

Creamy Tomato & Tuna Penne Pasta

See a pasta dish that's based loosely on a classic diner lunch combo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States