Pat's Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
These are fantastic dumplings. Traditional and old fashioned - not at all like the puffy bisquick dumplings. I made these substituting the salt for garlic salt. I did need to increase the water to about 3/4 cup. Rolled out just fine and cut nicely. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dixiechickbs

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
This turned out great for me. But I followed the advice of adding almost 3/4 cups water. I also added some leftover mashed potatoes that were seasoned with garlic and herbs. It was just what I was looking for. Nice and chewy. These went in my chicken soup. I did not have noodles so it really complimented the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymadness

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Irwin, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Manda
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
These are very plain and the amount of liquid called for is not nearly enough - I had to double it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Manda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orange, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
Excellent dumpling. My grandmother used to call these "Strap Dumplings". Great in squirrel potpie, other game meat pies, and beef stews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
This great classic dumpling had great flavor and texture. My only problem was not enough moisture in the recipe. I had to increase the water to a smidge over 1/2 cup to get the dough to stick together well enough to work with and roll out. Otherwise its a great tasting recipe that's dead easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grüne Eier

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Princeton, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
This recipe is just the way my Grandfather made them, but in those days lard was the thing. As for those silly city girls, these dumplings are NOT supposed to rise, hence the All-Purpose flour. Only the Self-Rising flour will make them rise. Hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by roselover2

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2008
Dumplings done right! Way better than canned biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PARABIANS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boyd, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
Absolutely perfect, we LOVED these in my homemade chicken noodle soup with dumplings...not slimy like when using premade canned biscuits and not fluffy like when using Bisquick dumplings. These taste exactly like the dumplings you get in any restaurant, thick and a little chewy and just heavenly. I used cold butter as I didn't have any shortening and added garlic salt and onion powder to the flour, and I did have to use about 3/4 cup water instead of 1/4 cup. Just a note to all the nay-sayers out there, these DO NOT rise like those Bisquick-type dumplings, that's not the kind of dumplings these are. These are completely submerged in whatever sauce you cook them in and are more like giant doughy noodles, they are not ball-shaped and don't sit on top of your sauce and get fluffy and airy on the outside. Please note this before trying the recipe so you won't have different expectations. 1/17/12 - UPDATE: I recently won 1st place in a cook-off a local restaurant using this recipe in my Chicken & Dumplings entry. I never use shortening, using instead only real, unsalted butter and add a little salt, pepper, garlic powder, and onion powder to the mix before adding about a cup or so of water :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christina b

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring Valley, California, USA
Living In: El Cajon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
This is my go-to recipe for dumplings. Love,love,love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Southern-Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2007
I agree with the review below mine. Not enough liquid at all...made a big mess. I will not try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAISYTAZZY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Self-Rising Flour

This simple combo of flour, baking powder, and salt can really save the day.

How to Measure Flour

See how to properly measure a cup of flour.

Measuring All-Purpose Flour

See the best way to measure this most versatile of flours.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States