Pat's Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
I really had a craving for dumpling's for my stew so when I saw this recipe and the many good reviews I was so excited to make them. WHAT A MESS! The dough was so heavy, then I cooked them for the 20 min. and they were still raw. You definitly need to add more water to the dough and probably need to use a food processor to mix it. I will stick to the fluffy dumplings that come from using bisquick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by julie vitale

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
The dumplings were just right, easy to make, I did use my food processor. I do wish I would have added more water since I live in the desert my dough is often dry, nonetheless, even though the dough was a little dry, the dumplings turned out perfect, I'm going to use this recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jaxwife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palmdale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
These are fantastic dumplings. Traditional and old fashioned - not at all like the puffy bisquick dumplings. I made these substituting the salt for garlic salt. I did need to increase the water to about 3/4 cup. Rolled out just fine and cut nicely. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dixiechickbs

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
This turned out great for me. But I followed the advice of adding almost 3/4 cups water. I also added some leftover mashed potatoes that were seasoned with garlic and herbs. It was just what I was looking for. Nice and chewy. These went in my chicken soup. I did not have noodles so it really complimented the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymadness

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Irwin, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Manda
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
These are very plain and the amount of liquid called for is not nearly enough - I had to double it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Manda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orange, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
Excellent dumpling. My grandmother used to call these "Strap Dumplings". Great in squirrel potpie, other game meat pies, and beef stews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
This great classic dumpling had great flavor and texture. My only problem was not enough moisture in the recipe. I had to increase the water to a smidge over 1/2 cup to get the dough to stick together well enough to work with and roll out. Otherwise its a great tasting recipe that's dead easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grüne Eier

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Princeton, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
This recipe is just the way my Grandfather made them, but in those days lard was the thing. As for those silly city girls, these dumplings are NOT supposed to rise, hence the All-Purpose flour. Only the Self-Rising flour will make them rise. Hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by roselover2

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2008
Dumplings done right! Way better than canned biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PARABIANS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boyd, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
Absolutely perfect, we LOVED these in my homemade chicken noodle soup with dumplings...not slimy like when using premade canned biscuits and not fluffy like when using Bisquick dumplings. These taste exactly like the dumplings you get in any restaurant, thick and a little chewy and just heavenly. I used cold butter as I didn't have any shortening and added garlic salt and onion powder to the flour, and I did have to use about 3/4 cup water instead of 1/4 cup. Just a note to all the nay-sayers out there, these DO NOT rise like those Bisquick-type dumplings, that's not the kind of dumplings these are. These are completely submerged in whatever sauce you cook them in and are more like giant doughy noodles, they are not ball-shaped and don't sit on top of your sauce and get fluffy and airy on the outside. Please note this before trying the recipe so you won't have different expectations. 1/17/12 - UPDATE: I recently won 1st place in a cook-off a local restaurant using this recipe in my Chicken & Dumplings entry. I never use shortening, using instead only real, unsalted butter and add a little salt, pepper, garlic powder, and onion powder to the mix before adding about a cup or so of water :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
129 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christina b

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring Valley, California, USA
Living In: El Cajon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chinese Pork Dumplings

See how to make authentic Hong Kong-style pork dumplings.

Pot Stickers (Chinese Dumplings)

See how to make Chinese dumplings filled with ground beef and shrimp.

Butter Flaky Pie Crust

This buttery crust is ideal for any kind of pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States