Pat's Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by mommaof4
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
These were just what I was looking for, a flat, doughy, noodle-like dumpling just like Grandma used to make! Excellent in my chicken and dumplings. Used 3/4 cup of water, butter instead of shortening, and I threw it in my food processor to make it easy to mix. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommaof4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
These were very good. I think I'll add just a pinch of baking powder next time to get a bit more loft to the dumpling. It's almost like Cracker Barrel.. just not quite. All in all, very easy in the food processor. I, too, added about 3/4 cup water to get the right consistancy of dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
VERY SIMPLE & EASY RECIPE! THANK YOU FOR IT. MY FAMILY HAS LOTS OF ALLERGIES SO HAVING A RECIPE THAT DIDN'T CALL FOR EGGS WAS GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EARLENE RENEE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
Very easy, and yes, just like Mom used to make. I had to increase the water also, to not quite 3/4 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
wow - easy and dense- just like Mmo used to make. very quick and the best thing is my kids eat them up. add chicken - delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
Wonderful!!! They taste delicious. I have a dumpling recipe I have used for years and wanted to change things up a bit this is now my new recipe that I will use for dumplings great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
These are very much like the Cracker Barrel dumplings that are served there...very dense. Easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
These were nice dense dumplings like they serve at Cracker Barrel. I loved them. My husband hated them. He asks me now every time I make Chicken and Dumplings whether or not I'm using this recipe, he hated them that bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2009
These were so good! I took a leftover Costco rotisserie chicken carcass with most of the darkmeat and skin still attached and boiled it to make my broth. Stuck it in fridge till next day and strained out all the chicken parts and separated the good meat. Reheated broth and tossed meat back in. When it was at a good simmer I added the dumplings. They thickened the broth beautifully. The best Chicken & Dumplings we've ever had. You must try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
I really had a craving for dumpling's for my stew so when I saw this recipe and the many good reviews I was so excited to make them. WHAT A MESS! The dough was so heavy, then I cooked them for the 20 min. and they were still raw. You definitly need to add more water to the dough and probably need to use a food processor to mix it. I will stick to the fluffy dumplings that come from using bisquick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by julie vitale

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Self-Rising Flour

This simple combo of flour, baking powder, and salt can really save the day.

How to Measure Flour

See how to properly measure a cup of flour.

Measuring All-Purpose Flour

See the best way to measure this most versatile of flours.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States