Pat's Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
They came out a little too flaky and I had to adjust the water. But, they did taste good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Redbird

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
These are perfect dumplings! I cooked the dumplings exactly like the recipe except I added 2 tablespoons of milk to soften my dough a little more. For those who have not cooked dumplings before: I cooked two large chicken breasts in about 5-6 cups of water with a dash of thyme, 2 teaspoons dried parsley, and large chunks of 1/4 onion & 1 stalk celery, and a touch of black pepper. When chicken was done, I removed the chicken (allowed to cool) and discarded the onion and celery chunks. I added 4 cups of store bought chicken broth to the pot (you want at least 6 cups of liquid as some of it gets absorbed), lightly stirred in the dumplings a few at a time. I shredded the chicken and added to pot. Salted and peppered to taste and added a pinch more parsley and a little garlic powder. Served up with cornbread; it was an awesome meal! Thanks for posting a dumpling recipe like my grandmother and mother used to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by R. J. Nequette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Macon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Doubled this recipe for my famous chicken n dumpling's (lost the original dumpling recipe I had)...these were FANTASTIC! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ridgely, Maryland, USA
Living In: Denton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
I tweaked it a bit like others did. Added 1/2 of the fat as shortening and 1/2 as butter, used milk instead of water and just kneaded dough together then broke off chunks and dropped dumplings into chicken soup. They sink first then when they rise to the top they are ready. Excellent!! Thanks Teresa for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
I have made this recipe several times and I always have to use much more considerable amout of water although I follow the recipe to the T. They turn out delicious, but I'm wondering if anybody has the same problem. All in all makes great dumplings!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
I love the taste and texture of these dumplings (dense and doughy rather than light and bready)!! I followed other reviewers' suggestions and used about 3/4 cup of water when making the dough. That seemed to be a little too much though, and I ended up adding more flour to make the dough less sticky. When putting them into the soup, I simply used my hands to roll the dough into a long rope, flattened it so that it was about 1/3 of an inch thick and then used kitchen shears to snip off pieces into the soup. The dumplings were a little irregular in shape b/c of that, but I expected/wanted that going in. I and the guests I had over for dinner loved them! Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
Liked using this when I made homemade chicken & dumplings a few months ago. They came out good. Think I added garlic powder
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
These were so easy to make. I boiled a chicken in chicken broth and water. I shredded the chicken and added in some penzey's chicken soup base then added the dumplings. My husband said they were just like his grandmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greencastle, Indiana, USA
Living In: Avon, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
I halved the recipe, but still ended up using almost a 1/4 c. water. Like others suggested, I made sure to roll extra thin. I stirred 3-4 times during the first 10 minutes. These do not rise to the top, they are the traditional dumpling that cook in the soup or stew. Not puffy. They look similar to a large noodle, but have a wonderful doughy texture. Just PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PORKBUN
Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
my mother loved this recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Self-Rising Flour

This simple combo of flour, baking powder, and salt can really save the day.

How to Measure Flour

See how to properly measure a cup of flour.

Measuring All-Purpose Flour

See the best way to measure this most versatile of flours.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States