Pat's Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2003
These were wonderful! The second time I made them, I did them in a crockpot and left them on low all day and removed the cover about half an hour before serving so they thickened up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
321 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2005
This was a smash at my bar-b-que birthday party Sunday! I made the following changes: used 1 can butter beans instead of the garbonzos, decreased the molasses to two tablespoons and increased the brown sugar to 2/3 cup, used about two heaping tablespoons of BBQ sauce instead of the ketchup, and did not drain the beans. I just did a quick saute of the pepper bacon. I mixed everything in the crockpot and cooked 6 hours low, last two hours high (lid removed) to thicken this and meld the flavors. Thanks previous reviewers, and thanks Kelly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
238 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2001
I used to have a great recipe for baked beans, but somehow I lost it many years ago... I've tried lots of recipes since then, and this is the closest I've come to that excellent recipe. It has the perfect combination of ketchup, molasses, mustard, brown sugar and onion. I'd cut the amt. of Worchestershire down the next time I made it, though. But it's good, and you can use any combination of beans you like. (I used a can of butter beans.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
I made these baked beans for a family BBQ last weekend and everyone commented about how delicious they were. They really were the best baked beans I've ever had. I cooked them covered for an hour as directed, but then cooked them uncovered for about 10 minutes so they would thicken up and they turned out very well, not too much liquid. My store didn't have canned Great Northern Beans, and I don't care for Garbanzo Beans, so I used two cans of Pinto beans, two cans of Bush's Original Baked Beans, and one can of kidney beans, plus I used a really good, thick Applewood Smoked Bacon which added a great flavor and texture. I loved how simple this was to make! Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
I cooked this up for a party yesterday exactly as given. No changes. It came out perfect. I was asked by many for the recipe. One lady simply hollered "Ouch, them's goooood beans." I doubled the recipe to feed 20. Only about 15 ate and the beans ran out early. I'm not a big baked bean fan, but this I loved. I highly recommend. It WILL be a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
This bean recipe is awesome! I live in Vermont, so I add about a half cup of VT Maple syrup, and my husband adds about 1/3 cup of Jack Daniels to the recipe...and it gives them even more zip! Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2002
As with most bean-based recipes you can sub just about any type of canned bean for any other and that's what I did... used what was on hand, subbing black beans for garbanzos. I served this as part of a end-of-Summer cookout and added 1 lb. of ground beef to it just to make things interesting. ;-) It even ended up in the oven for much longer than I wanted it to. (Do guests ever show up on time?!?) Would definitely make it again as it was a hit at the cookout!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2007
These are wonderful with a can of drained black beans added, extra Worcestershire..... a few dashes of cayenne pepper gives a little interest
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArmyMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2001
Can't stop eating these beans! I've made them twice in the last month to rave reviews! We're attempting the "Zone Diet" and these beans are a good choice! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2001
It couldn't have been easier. I liked that there was different types of beans. I had some ground turkey meat which I substituted for the bacon. That was great!! Was perfect for a big bbq crowd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 492) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Bacon Baked Beans

See how to make baked beans with bacon, diced apples, and brown sugar.

Simple Baked Beans

See how to make super quick-and-easy baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States