Pat's Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
a great combination of beans really keeps things interesting... this recipe turned out great i put in the slow cooker for 5 hours on high leaving the cover off for the last half hour... these turned out great everyone loved them.... not quite as good as the totally from scratch Boston Baked Beans from this site but so much easier to make.... really a great medley to the traditional baked beans
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
A very belated thank you! I have been meaning to rate this FOREVER!! I found this recipe about 3-4 years ago and have been making it ever since. It is the only baked bean I make! I am in charge of making it every 4th of July now and that is for about 100 people. They all go nuts over them. I am kind of tired or being the bean lady for 100 people, but I keep doing it...lol. I cannot brag enough about your recipe. Even our friends children who super picky love them. Great recipe and thank you so much fo sharing. They are super flavoful and tasty. DONT HESITATE. Try this recipe. You will not regret it...unless you have to start making it all the time like me..hehe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CharFraz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
These were very tart and too over-powering. They needed more liquid (I drained the beans). Their basic flavor was good and I will make again - tweaking the recipe. I used turkey bacon and that was a success. The red kidney beans remained too firm, so I think I will use another can of pintos instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ClammerNana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
This is very close to my own baked bean recipe. But I usually just use five cans of pork beans. I tried this one because of the variety of beans. I didn't use the chick peas though, I knew I would freak my guest out with those in there, just used another can of pork beans instead. I only put in 2 tablespoons of molasses and increase the brown sugar to 1/2 cup. I also add a couple dashes of liquid smoke and a couple tablespoons of BBQ sauce. I didn't have a lot of time so I used the precooked bacon pieces you put on salad (but can say if you have the time, regular bacon is much better). Although I did cook the onions and garlic in the 2T of bacon grease as this recipe calls for...we keep our bacon grease in a jar on hand. My own recipe I just mix in the chopped onions without the precooking. I didn't notice any onion taste at all with precooking them...and missed the little crunches of onion bits. I just mix it all up in a 9X13 glass casserole dish, no bowls needed and baked uncovered on 350 for an hour and twenty min. Everyone loved these beans, but my husband did ask why I didn't put any onion it it. Our guest don't like onions so I guess it worked out fine. I do like the variety of the beans and might try some black beans instead of the chick peas next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
These are the best baked beans. I have cooked them in the oven and in the crock pot. I like the oven the best, but the are still delicious in the crock pot. The secret to ensuring that they turn out good, is to not skimp on the bean brand. Use good quality can beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Lindsey Gibson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allen, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
Everyone loved them. I did use a full pound of bacon and substituted the garbanzo beans for a second can of baked beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
Excellent beans. Very good flavor. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
This recipe is great. no need to mess with IT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brantford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by curryd

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
Loved it! I used a can of ranch beans because I didn't have a can of baked beans. I also added about a 1/4 cup of Rockin Rudys BBQ sauce. Sorry everyone, only available in Idaho!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by housgrll

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 502) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Simple Baked Beans

See how to make super quick-and-easy baked beans.

Bacon Baked Beans

See how to make baked beans with bacon, diced apples, and brown sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States