Pat's Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
This is very close to my own baked bean recipe. But I usually just use five cans of pork beans. I tried this one because of the variety of beans. I didn't use the chick peas though, I knew I would freak my guest out with those in there, just used another can of pork beans instead. I only put in 2 tablespoons of molasses and increase the brown sugar to 1/2 cup. I also add a couple dashes of liquid smoke and a couple tablespoons of BBQ sauce. I didn't have a lot of time so I used the precooked bacon pieces you put on salad (but can say if you have the time, regular bacon is much better). Although I did cook the onions and garlic in the 2T of bacon grease as this recipe calls for...we keep our bacon grease in a jar on hand. My own recipe I just mix in the chopped onions without the precooking. I didn't notice any onion taste at all with precooking them...and missed the little crunches of onion bits. I just mix it all up in a 9X13 glass casserole dish, no bowls needed and baked uncovered on 350 for an hour and twenty min. Everyone loved these beans, but my husband did ask why I didn't put any onion it it. Our guest don't like onions so I guess it worked out fine. I do like the variety of the beans and might try some black beans instead of the chick peas next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
These are the best baked beans. I have cooked them in the oven and in the crock pot. I like the oven the best, but the are still delicious in the crock pot. The secret to ensuring that they turn out good, is to not skimp on the bean brand. Use good quality can beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Lindsey Gibson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allen, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
Everyone loved them. I did use a full pound of bacon and substituted the garbanzo beans for a second can of baked beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
Excellent beans. Very good flavor. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
This recipe is great. no need to mess with IT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brantford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by curryd

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
Loved it! I used a can of ranch beans because I didn't have a can of baked beans. I also added about a 1/4 cup of Rockin Rudys BBQ sauce. Sorry everyone, only available in Idaho!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by housgrll

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
This is my favorite baked bean recipe and I've made quite a few. I don't change a single thing when I make the beans. :) Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
After the first go round, we made it the second time without the garbanzo's. Didn't like the texture of the garbanzo's. BUT we love the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracey Lynne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
Delicious! I doubled the mustard and used Dijon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 499) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Simple Baked Beans

See how to make super quick-and-easy baked beans.

Bacon Baked Beans

See how to make baked beans with bacon, diced apples, and brown sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States