Pat's Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
I was skeptical about making this for my 4th of July cookout but I am glad I did. I made a few changes to this recipe, I replaced the garbanzo beans with black beans instead of bacon(my husbancd does not eat pork)I used ground turkey. Threw everything in a slow cooker and cooked on low for about 6 hours. There was nothing left!!! This will be my go to baked beans recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
Great recipe. I omitted the garbanzo beans and added white canellini beans.I also added a pinch of Chinese 5-spice. It added a great flavor to the beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sharpsville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hummelstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
I rarely leave reviews but I love these beans. I tried it exactly as written and they were good but I made a few modifications the third time I made them and they are awesome. I add more sugar, less molasses,use 1.5 pack of bacon. I also sub half of the ketchup for sweet brown sugar BBQ sauce. I used 2 can of Bush's steakhouse grillin beans, 1 black beans, 1 great northern beans, and 1 dark kidney beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
This is a great basic baked bean recipe and it's always a hit, especially on those outdoor barbecue kind of days. Perfect with ribs! My wife is vegetarian so I always leave out the bacon these days, but I have made it with ground sausage in the past and that just puts these beans into orbit! Instead of ketchup I use 1 can of tomato soup (without the extra can of water), then add the molasses, brown sugar, onions, and a little bit of my favorite barbecue sauce for that extra zing and leave out the Worcestershire. Then I throw in a mixture of 8 or 9 different beans, including a can each of cut yellow and green beans for a touch of color. After combining everything I thinly slice a sweet onion and lay the slices on top while they bake, they add a nice flavor and finishing look. I do drain my cans beforehand except maybe a little of the thicker juice from the kidney and similar beans, otherwise there's way too much liquid and you wind up with bean soup instead. At least an hour at 350 covered, then another hour or more at around 225 and they come out amazing. I've also learned to make 2 batches of these in different baking dishes, a large one for guests and a smaller one for us for the next day, otherwise there's never anything left over for the cook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
Normally I despise any baked bean recipe that starts with baked beans. Seems a bit odd to me. However, I needed something for a crowd in a big hurry and gave this recipe a try. I did not follow the recipe's directions. I like quick & easy in certain circumstances -- and this was one of them. I simply tossed EVERYTHING into a large mixing bowl (finely diced garlic, onions & diced bacon -- and tossed in uncooked). Omitted Worcestershire and added 2 teaspoons liquid smoke. Added the beans (using whatever I had in the cabinet), but I did drain two cans. Otherwise I believe there would have been way too much liquid. (I deducted a star for lack of clarification in the recipe as to whether the beans needed to be drained or not. But GLAD I did drain 2.) Baked in the oven, uncovered, at 400 degrees F for 1 hour. Turned out nicely done. The pan was wiped out. I will use this recipe again in a pinch -- but add a bit more liquid smoke to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beadanurse

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
I made this recipe for our Father's Day Cook Out and it was a hit. I made it exactly as listed except I kept it in the oven on 200 degrees after the original bake time until our guests started arriving. Oh, I also added 2 seeded and chopped jalapeños.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ladybug

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA
Living In: Marion, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
is a good recipe however I used a small can of manwich sause and a little red pepper, zings it up a little and my kids can't get enough
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2014
My husband made this when we had friends over for brisket everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LORNA MB

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
These are delicious! I cook them on the stove and like to add bell pepper, vinegar and a little cayenne to give them some sweet, hot tanginess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
oh man this recipe is so good.. I have to say I made my own bean mixture in the crock pot the day before mixing navy beans and kidney beans and pinto beans cooked them on high in 8 cups of water for six hours turned it off. put in fridge once cooled then the next day added all the ingredents and baked in the oven just because was already baking stuff anyways otherwise i would have just finished in the crock pot,,, but my whole family and friends love this thanks so much for sharing love love love these..... I have made this with really spicy sausage in place of the bacon oh man so good....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNEH2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 492) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Bacon Baked Beans

See how to make baked beans with bacon, diced apples, and brown sugar.

Simple Baked Beans

See how to make super quick-and-easy baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States