Pat's Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
I really liked these, or at least the version of this that I made. I didn't want to add the can of baked beans, but I figured those beans are already seasoned so the seasoning must be all for the unseasoned beans. Therefore I stuck to the rest of the recipe mostly as-is*, and it turned out very nice. *We don't like super sweet baked beans, so I did cut down on the sugar/molasses. And I took another reviewer's suggestion and substituted bbq sauce for some of the ketchup. But those are personal preferences we would have done for just about any baked beans recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
Great beans! I had to use a crock pot because I was using the oven for something else. I let them cook on low for 4 or 5 hours & the whole neighborhood stopped by to see what smelled so good. A good go-to recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Charlotte, Florida, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
These went over well when I made them for a recent cookout. The five types of beans makes a nice change from the usual baked bean recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
Solid, but really you're cooking canned beans (which includes baked beans) with bbq sauce. I liked the addition of the bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
These are great beans. I have the same review as most others do. The first time I made them I did not care for the texture of the garbanzo beans. I have since replaced them with rinsed black beans. At the moment I have some going in the slow cooker and I am going to try substituting 1/4 cup ketchup with BBQ sauce. I don't think you can go wrong with this recipe. I made it a few years back and a guest just asked me if I could bring it to a party of 75. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
My family loves these beans. Even my mother in law. A new family favorite. Cindy South Carolina
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
Also added Roma beans & a chipotle pepper. Great recipe,thanks:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
This is by far the best baked beans recipe EVER! I always use pintos as my base and then add whatever variety of beans I have in the pantry. I get asked for this recipe every time I bring it to a gathering. Great recipe just as written and great to experiment with as well. I don't care for molasses so I use honey in it's place, real maple syrup sounds great also as one reviewer suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Clear Lake Shores, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
I brought this to a BBQ and these beans were a hit.I used Applewood bacon as another reviewer suggested. The different type of beans are a good touch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dresher, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
I made this for my son's party a few years ago and it was a big hit. Now this is the most requested dish for all our family function. -Shawna
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 514) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Simple Baked Beans

See how to make super quick-and-easy baked beans.

Bacon Baked Beans

See how to make baked beans with bacon, diced apples, and brown sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States