Pat's Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
Awesome! - I modified it slightly to make it spicier. I offered to bring baked beans to a party with a soul food menu. I had never made my own before. These are REALLY GOOD! Also an impressive take along dish for large groups that is economical. Changes: 1. I only used 2 types of Beans - 1/2 Bush's Original baked and 1/2 navy beans. (My corner supermarket had the giant cans for ~ $5.00) 2. I used Open Pit Original BBQ sauce instead of Ketchup. 3. I added chopped Jalapenos - out of the jar the 1st time and fresh jalapenos the second time - both worked well 4. I browned the onions and garlic instead of cooking just until the onion was tender 5. I baked with a lower heat for a longer time; not sure if that really made a difference. Thx Pat and Kelly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmington, Michigan, USA
Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
Fantastic recipe, great flavor. I used all dried beans instead of canned and omitted garbanzo beans. If you use dried beans soak them overnight and cook the next morning as directed. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
Took these beans on our latest camping trip. Everyone absolutely loved them. I'll be making these for years to come. I left out the red kidneys and the garbanzos and doubled the pintos and great northerns. Also, used BBQ sauce instead of ketchup and spicy mustard, just what I happened to have on hand. Thanks for an excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APRILAPPLE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miramar, Florida, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
A couple things. I didn't have molasses or Worcestershire Sauce, so I used pure maple syrup and soy sauce instead. Soooo flavorful!! Everyone loved them and I got a lot of complements. Also, I cooked the bacon, put everything in the slow cooker for about 8 hours and kept it on warm until we were ready to eat, and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Made these for Thanksgiving 2010. They were a hit. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EROCK101

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Let these sit in the fridge overnight after baking and the flavors really come together. Best baked beans I've eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Los Gatos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
Made this for the first time today, used a 13 dry bean mix from Bob's Mills. Soaked the beans all night then mixed it up and cooked them in the crock pot all day. Had to add some extra beef stock because the dry beans really continue to soak up the juice. Also didn't have enough catsup so used up my chili sauce from the shrimp sauce I made the other day. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
This was not sweet enough for me. I took the left overs and added more brown sugar, bar-b-que sauce and honey. Was better, but will probably not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Amazing! Made this last night and followed the directions exactly with the exception of substituting butter beans for the garbonzo as I don't care for those. No leftovers and I think I could have doubled it as we liked it so much. No need to try any other recipe. This one is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mnclark02
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
I've never really been a bean fan but I made this along with a ham for our Christmas dinner and it was amazing! Since I don't like garbanzo beans I used Butter Beans instead but that was the only change I made. The beans were even better the second day. I think next time I will try making it in the crock pot because I think the longer it cooks the better the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopewell Junction, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 111-120 (of 484) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Bacon Baked Beans

See how to make baked beans with bacon, diced apples, and brown sugar.

Simple Baked Beans

See how to make super quick-and-easy baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States