Pat's Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2015
I made this recipe for a 4th of July BBQ and they were so good! I took Saveur's advice and added a couple tablespoons of BBQ sauce (Famous Dave's "Devil's Spit"), decreased the molasses to 2 tablespoons and increased the sugar to 2/3 of a cup, however I added directed the ketchup as well. My friends and I aren't huge garbanzo been fans outside of hummus so I just doubled the amount of baked beans (Bush's original). Because of this I might leave out the brown sugar next time because they were very sweet. These beans are even better the next day as the baked beans get a little creamier, while the stronger beans retain their shape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2015
My husband said that it's the best beans he's ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2015
I made the recipe exactly as is and thought they were very good. I do think they could use a bit of vinegar or maybe a dash of liquid smoke. My Grandma made something very similar called Calico Beans that was always my favorite. This recipe works well in a crock pot, too. You just need to take the lid off the crock for the last 45 minutes or so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2015
I found this recipe about 8 years ago and it has stood the test of time. It is perfect for a large crowd and a great accompaniment to any kind of bbq. It is definitely not a light dish, calorie wise, but it is delish. Both the young and old have always raved about it. It would also be a lot less expensive if you cooked your own beans from dried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2015
Every bit as wonderful as reviews said they were! Made exactly per recipe and they were a huge hit at the cookout. It did take me longer than 15 minutes for the preparation, but perhaps I'm just slow. Definitely making these again. And again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2015
Made this exact and flavors are excellent!!! Will switch the garbanzo beans next time though, or maybe I just needed to cook them longer. Mine seemed a bit undercooked. All the other beans were soft, the garbanzo beans were a bit firm for my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2015
Wonderful recipe. I get lots of requests. I make them in my crockpot on low heat. I drain all but the baked beans so I watch for scorching. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
I used different kinds of beans and had to sub bacon bits for real bacon, but it came out ok. My only critique is that the end result seems too sweet. I wish I'd cut the sugar (1/8c) and ketchup (maybe 1/2c).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn Denny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2015
Oh My Goodness!!! I have it all together and we can't get over how good it is! I haven't cooked it yet but if it is in "WOW" status now, can't imagine what it will be like tomorrow when I put it in the crock pot and serve it at family dinner...Just wonderful Kelly! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
Love, love, love this recipe. This is my go-to for family events and it never goes to waste. The only changes I make are 1/3 cup brown sugar and a few extra bacon strips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 520) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Simple Baked Beans

See how to make super quick-and-easy baked beans.

Bacon Baked Beans

See how to make baked beans with bacon, diced apples, and brown sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States