Pat's Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
This is by far the best baked beans recipe EVER! I always use pintos as my base and then add whatever variety of beans I have in the pantry. I get asked for this recipe every time I bring it to a gathering. Great recipe just as written and great to experiment with as well. I don't care for molasses so I use honey in it's place, real maple syrup sounds great also as one reviewer suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Clear Lake Shores, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
I brought this to a BBQ and these beans were a hit.I used Applewood bacon as another reviewer suggested. The different type of beans are a good touch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dresher, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
I made this for my son's party a few years ago and it was a big hit. Now this is the most requested dish for all our family function. -Shawna
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
This is an excellent recipe. I love the texture of the different kinds of beans. I add whatever kind I have on hand. I've been asked several times to bring this dish to cookouts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
I made this for a large family event and those of us that like beans loved this dish. The only changes I made were to use white kidney beans in place of the garbanzo beans, eliminated the black pepper and cut the ketchup back to 1/4 cup based on personal preferences of mine. Great recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
I was skeptical about making this for my 4th of July cookout but I am glad I did. I made a few changes to this recipe, I replaced the garbanzo beans with black beans instead of bacon(my husbancd does not eat pork)I used ground turkey. Threw everything in a slow cooker and cooked on low for about 6 hours. There was nothing left!!! This will be my go to baked beans recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
Great recipe. I omitted the garbanzo beans and added white canellini beans.I also added a pinch of Chinese 5-spice. It added a great flavor to the beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sharpsville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hummelstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
I rarely leave reviews but I love these beans. I tried it exactly as written and they were good but I made a few modifications the third time I made them and they are awesome. I add more sugar, less molasses,use 1.5 pack of bacon. I also sub half of the ketchup for sweet brown sugar BBQ sauce. I used 2 can of Bush's steakhouse grillin beans, 1 black beans, 1 great northern beans, and 1 dark kidney beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
This is a great basic baked bean recipe and it's always a hit, especially on those outdoor barbecue kind of days. Perfect with ribs! My wife is vegetarian so I always leave out the bacon these days, but I have made it with ground sausage in the past and that just puts these beans into orbit! Instead of ketchup I use 1 can of tomato soup (without the extra can of water), then add the molasses, brown sugar, onions, and a little bit of my favorite barbecue sauce for that extra zing and leave out the Worcestershire. Then I throw in a mixture of 8 or 9 different beans, including a can each of cut yellow and green beans for a touch of color. After combining everything I thinly slice a sweet onion and lay the slices on top while they bake, they add a nice flavor and finishing look. I do drain my cans beforehand except maybe a little of the thicker juice from the kidney and similar beans, otherwise there's way too much liquid and you wind up with bean soup instead. At least an hour at 350 covered, then another hour or more at around 225 and they come out amazing. I've also learned to make 2 batches of these in different baking dishes, a large one for guests and a smaller one for us for the next day, otherwise there's never anything left over for the cook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
Normally I despise any baked bean recipe that starts with baked beans. Seems a bit odd to me. However, I needed something for a crowd in a big hurry and gave this recipe a try. I did not follow the recipe's directions. I like quick & easy in certain circumstances -- and this was one of them. I simply tossed EVERYTHING into a large mixing bowl (finely diced garlic, onions & diced bacon -- and tossed in uncooked). Omitted Worcestershire and added 2 teaspoons liquid smoke. Added the beans (using whatever I had in the cabinet), but I did drain two cans. Otherwise I believe there would have been way too much liquid. (I deducted a star for lack of clarification in the recipe as to whether the beans needed to be drained or not. But GLAD I did drain 2.) Baked in the oven, uncovered, at 400 degrees F for 1 hour. Turned out nicely done. The pan was wiped out. I will use this recipe again in a pinch -- but add a bit more liquid smoke to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beadanurse

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 497) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Simple Baked Beans

See how to make super quick-and-easy baked beans.

Bacon Baked Beans

See how to make baked beans with bacon, diced apples, and brown sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States