Patriotic Fruit Pizza Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
The crust on this fruit pizza is MUCH better than the traditional way of using pre-made sugar cookie crust. Our family of 5 had it gone in 2 days! I definitely recommend this recipe. Absolutely delicious and great for the 4th of July! We made it exactly as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
I was so glad to find this recipe; it was perfect for our 4th of July picnic! I got some really great local fresh grown strawberries, blue berries, and I also used some fresh raspberries at a local farmers stand along one of our back roads in Lancaster, PA. I liked that this was a completely made from scratch recipe, instead of using ‘boxed’ sugar cookies. My only change was that I used 1 cup of unsalted butter instead of ½ cup shortening and ½ cup butter. It turned out perfect, and it looks so impressive, but was really quite easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
BEST DESSERT EVER!! Huge family hit! A new favorite for the holidays!!! Here's a tip: We only had 1 package of cream cheese, so we used 1/2 a can of Reddi Whip instead and it was awesome!! Made it very creamy but not too thick!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
This was a huge hit after our church's patriotic music program! I added the grated peel of one lemon to the cookie dough, and used 1 C. butter in place of the shortening and margarine, as another reviewer suggested. I didn't arrange the blueberries in rows, just outlined the rectangle and filled it in however they fell. Beautiful to look at and scrumptious to eat! I plan on making it again for another 4th of July event.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
My 5 yr old and 3 yr old loved helping me make this patriotic fruit pizza. It turned out great, LOVE that the cookie is from scratch, not a boxed mix!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AlanaKadas
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
This is so good! My only regret is not putting more fruit on the top! The sugar cookie crust is the best part, though! I didn't use margarine or shortening, but all real butter instead of the two of those and it turned out wonderfully. It is more than halfway gone not even a day later with our family of five.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlanaKadas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
The sugar cookie crust was delicious and easy. I was surprised how well tossing the banana slices in lemon juice kept them. We still have some fruit pizza left in the fridge 3 days later and the bananas STILL haven't turned!!! It was a big hit at our 4th of July BBQ. I will definitely be keeping this recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
*****do not do this recipe !!!!! I have made many fruit pizzas recipes over the years and I thought I would give this one a shot. everything was ok and perfect except for the vegetable shortening!! do not add that to the recipe !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 911chick

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fruit Pizza I

Turn summer’s fresh fruit into a delicious sweet dessert.

Fruit Pizza II

This delicious "pizza" makes an impressive dessert or brunch centerpiece.

PHILADELPHIA 'Fruit Smoothie' Cheesecake

See how to make a scrumptious, berry-filled, no-bake cheesecake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States