Patriotic Fruit Pizza Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
I was so glad to find this recipe; it was perfect for our 4th of July picnic! I got some really great local fresh grown strawberries, blue berries, and I also used some fresh raspberries at a local farmers stand along one of our back roads in Lancaster, PA. I liked that this was a completely made from scratch recipe, instead of using ‘boxed’ sugar cookies. My only change was that I used 1 cup of unsalted butter instead of ½ cup shortening and ½ cup butter. It turned out perfect, and it looks so impressive, but was really quite easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
BEST DESSERT EVER!! Huge family hit! A new favorite for the holidays!!! Here's a tip: We only had 1 package of cream cheese, so we used 1/2 a can of Reddi Whip instead and it was awesome!! Made it very creamy but not too thick!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
The sugar cookie crust was delicious and easy. I was surprised how well tossing the banana slices in lemon juice kept them. We still have some fruit pizza left in the fridge 3 days later and the bananas STILL haven't turned!!! It was a big hit at our 4th of July BBQ. I will definitely be keeping this recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
This was a huge hit after our church's patriotic music program! I added the grated peel of one lemon to the cookie dough, and used 1 C. butter in place of the shortening and margarine, as another reviewer suggested. I didn't arrange the blueberries in rows, just outlined the rectangle and filled it in however they fell. Beautiful to look at and scrumptious to eat! I plan on making it again for another 4th of July event.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
My 5 yr old and 3 yr old loved helping me make this patriotic fruit pizza. It turned out great, LOVE that the cookie is from scratch, not a boxed mix!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
The crust on this fruit pizza is MUCH better than the traditional way of using pre-made sugar cookie crust. Our family of 5 had it gone in 2 days! I definitely recommend this recipe. Absolutely delicious and great for the 4th of July! We made it exactly as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
*****do not do this recipe !!!!! I have made many fruit pizzas recipes over the years and I thought I would give this one a shot. everything was ok and perfect except for the vegetable shortening!! do not add that to the recipe !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 911chick

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AlanaKadas
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
This is so good! My only regret is not putting more fruit on the top! The sugar cookie crust is the best part, though! I didn't use margarine or shortening, but all real butter instead of the two of those and it turned out wonderfully. It is more than halfway gone not even a day later with our family of five.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlanaKadas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fruit Pizza I

Turn summer’s fresh fruit into a delicious sweet dessert.

Fruit Pizza II

This delicious "pizza" makes an impressive dessert or brunch centerpiece.

PHILADELPHIA 'Fruit Smoothie' Cheesecake

See how to make a scrumptious, berry-filled, no-bake cheesecake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States