Patricia's Green Chile Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2001
Very easy to make, used boiled chicken instead of canned. I did use canned green chile's with much success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
I doubled the recipe, used roasted, New-Mexican green chilis, added cilantro, salt, a LOT of freshly ground pepper and used Colby-Jack cheese. Very tasty, very easy and very quick! I have already been asked for the recipe and I just served it for the first time a few minutes ago!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2000
i am a real soup eater and this has to top out as one of my favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
This was delicious, quick and easy! I added cilantro and used New Mexico green chili. I also used a larger can of chicken and one cup of 2% milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Absolutely delicious, just kept pouring more bowls of it. Tastes like Central Market....so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
A nice mild creamy chili soup that is easy to make for one or two people. You could easily add in extra spices or herbs and maybe even a can of beans if you desire. I put in one chopped jalapeno pepper and some shakes of Mexican oregano, and dried parsley for some extra flavor. I was delighted to see other reviews that used canned green chilies since fresh are not in the markets this time of year. I let it gently simmer for about an hour to allow for the flavors to release. I'm sure I'll make it again and hopefully have fresh chilies next time, although it was very good with the canned chilies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
I used a pound of chicken breast, which I cubed and sauteed with the onion. I also used about 1 3/4 cup of half & half. I put 2 cans of green chiles into my chopper to make them a bit finer, then I added another can of chiles which I didn't chop. I also added a small bag of potatoes to the soup. It was so good! My husband and I really loved the creamy texture. I will double the recipe next time, however, because between me, my husband, and our 3 older daughters, we ate every drop of this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KaylaMayaCamrynMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2007
An excellent, easy and very flavorful soup. My husband and I love it and I've shared the recipe with friends and coworkers. I usually double the recipe and sometimes change up the seasoning to include chipotle. This also freezes very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2001
Delicious soup - reminds me of Chicken enchiladas. Both of my teenagers loved it. I doubled the recipe thinking it didn't seem like much, but it is so rich, I think the proportions are probably about right for each serving. We love spicy, so I added some diced jalepenos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
We have goats, so our alterations involved using our rich goat milk instead of half-and-half, and using chevre instead of sour cream. We upped the 'medium' fresh Hatch chilis to 1 cup, and used mushroom soup instead of chicken, cutting out the chicken so the whole soup was vegetarian. We adults liked the soup quite a bit, but the kid thought it 'tasted funny'. We'll probably make it again and throw a couple XXX hot chilis in for some heat. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

How to Make Cold Cucumber Soup

Make this sour-cream and yogurt cucumber soup with an immersion blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States