Patricia's Green Chile Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
I doubled the recipe, used roasted, New-Mexican green chilis, added cilantro, salt, a LOT of freshly ground pepper and used Colby-Jack cheese. Very tasty, very easy and very quick! I have already been asked for the recipe and I just served it for the first time a few minutes ago!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2006
Very yummy, but not spicy. I was hoping to recreate Central Market's Green Chili Chicken soup, but this was creamier. I would definitely add something to spice this up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nacogdoches, Texas, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2001
Very easy to make, used boiled chicken instead of canned. I did use canned green chile's with much success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2004
Good recipe. I used grilled chicken breasts instead of canned and some diced tomato as well. It worked okay with regular milk instead of half-n-half. I would recommend it. Nice served with the buttered tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2005
MMmmm... this was really tasty. However, my husband and I had this as a meal and it was barely enough. I would double it next time, and use twice as much chicken - just a little skimpy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2002
EASY! Used canned chicken, canned chili's and it was a snap for a weeknight! Tasted surprisingly good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2001
Delicious soup - reminds me of Chicken enchiladas. Both of my teenagers loved it. I doubled the recipe thinking it didn't seem like much, but it is so rich, I think the proportions are probably about right for each serving. We love spicy, so I added some diced jalepenos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2007
An excellent, easy and very flavorful soup. My husband and I love it and I've shared the recipe with friends and coworkers. I usually double the recipe and sometimes change up the seasoning to include chipotle. This also freezes very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
I used a pound of chicken breast, which I cubed and sauteed with the onion. I also used about 1 3/4 cup of half & half. I put 2 cans of green chiles into my chopper to make them a bit finer, then I added another can of chiles which I didn't chop. I also added a small bag of potatoes to the soup. It was so good! My husband and I really loved the creamy texture. I will double the recipe next time, however, because between me, my husband, and our 3 older daughters, we ate every drop of this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KaylaMayaCamrynMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2000
This soup is a hit in our household. I cooked the chicken myself, rather than using canned. I also used fresh green chilis and sauteed them along with the onions and added some salt and black pepper. I served it with steamed rice so it would be easier for my 22 month old to spoon up. Perfect for a cold winter's evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

How to Make Cold Cucumber Soup

Make this sour-cream and yogurt cucumber soup with an immersion blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States