Pastry Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
Wonderful recipe! Very rich and almost sinful flavour and texture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
This stuff is dangerous! I made a batch for some cream puffs and when I test tasted this cream I almost ate the entire bowl. Absolutely the best I have ever tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buffy Ehlers Whitney

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Streator, Illinois, USA
Living In: Ottawa, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
Delicious! I use 4 yolks, not too eggy but nice and rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ADRI122

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2007
I used only four eggs and used vanilla extract instead of the vanilla bean. I stirred the whole time but I still got lumps..oh well. I used this as a filling for a fruit tart and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2007
After reading a review for this pastry cream recipe which stated it being a bit eggy, i cut down the eggs to 4. I also used only 2 egg yolks and 1/2 C of Egg Beaters and cut down the butter to 2 T instead of 4 to make it a little healthier. The egg beaters and butter worked perfectly, it was absolutely delicious even though i still found it just a tad too eggy for my taste. Next time i will use 3 egg yolks and i might not add butter at all. It doesn't seem to need it. I also added 1/2 to 1 C of milk as i wanted it much thinner so it could be drizzled over french toast and berries (if you make this for french toast, use cinnamon in your french toast batter sparingly as it can easily overwhelm the flavour of the pastry cream). The eggs seem to only add flavour and colour to the recipe, they do not seem to influence the texture. So if you prefer pudding over custard because of the eggs, you might be able to cut them out all together. If you are like me and like only slightly eggy custards, you will want to cut back the eggs to 3 - 4. Although this recipe is not quite as good as the pastry cream i had at a cafe that sparked my search for the perfect pastry cream recipe, it is still incredibly yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2007
Delicious! Simple to make, I used it as a filling for stuffed french toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2007
Fabulous! Very easy and delicious! It's so versatile one could use it for nearly anything! This recipe leaves a lot of room for creativity. WONDERUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2007
Very easy to make...I think I added too much vanilla (didn't have a bean) but it was just right for the cream puffs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RHONDAM10

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Colorado, USA
Living In: La Salle, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
Very easy pastry cream! I have tried many different ones and this is definitely the easiest one, without sacrificing flavor. I divided the recipe by 3 because I was mixing it with whipped cream for a crepe cake; and it worked out just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shala Soon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Rosa Heights, Arima Borough, Trinidad And Tobago
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
Wow, this was my first time making pastry cream...I was a little nervous at first because I was afraid it would clump when boiling. But I followed the directions and it came out really well. I used it for a fruit tart and it was so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Pastry Cream

This sweet, creamy custard is the classic filling for pastries, tarts, and cakes.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Vanilla Ice Cream V

This is pure, simple heaven: Vanilla ice cream with great flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States