Pastry Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2007
Very easy to make...I think I added too much vanilla (didn't have a bean) but it was just right for the cream puffs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RHONDAM10

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Colorado, USA
Living In: La Salle, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
Very easy pastry cream! I have tried many different ones and this is definitely the easiest one, without sacrificing flavor. I divided the recipe by 3 because I was mixing it with whipped cream for a crepe cake; and it worked out just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TSHURA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Rosa Heights, Arima Borough, Trinidad And Tobago
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
Wow, this was my first time making pastry cream...I was a little nervous at first because I was afraid it would clump when boiling. But I followed the directions and it came out really well. I used it for a fruit tart and it was so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2006
Pretty good pastry cream...a little eggier taste than I was expecting but still overall very good. Can be kind of dense and thick...so when I want a lighter cream, I fold in some whipped cream/whipped topping and add a little more vanilla/sugar to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MochaCupcake

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2006
easy to make, but i would decrease the amount of butter. i actually prefferred the pastry cream the day after. make sure to cover with cling film if left in frige, otherwise a skin will form. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
I used this recipe to use up some of the egg yolks leftover from my angel food cake recipe, then I served the pastry cream drizzled over top of the angel food cake, along with fresh berries and whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ali

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
yummm....this was great! It was easy to cook...It came out great and smooth. I used vanilla extract instead of vanilla bean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEHIA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hahnville, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2006
this goes really really nicly with cream puffs! my sister aks me to make this over and over again and she is very hard to please her food-wise(one of the only foods we both like since mac and cheese). but if you would like to use this as a filling like i do,i would recomend using half or even a quarter of what the ingredients say, cause you will have way too much left if you use everything
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2006
I made this for eclairs...but it never made it that far... Yummm..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2006
Great Recipe! I tried this recipe today to use as the filling for small cream puffs. Fabulous! I followed the recipe as written except I used the vanilla extract instead of the bean. I piped the cream into the puff pastry and then topped with a chocolate ganache. I've always been afraid to make these, but they were not nearly and hard as I thought. I will definitely make again. I also wanted to freeze these for a party, took a few out of the freezer tonite and the worst part was waiting for them to defrost. My husband just ate them frozen. I don't know if they will last until my party since he knows they are in the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Red Bank, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Windermere, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pastry Cream

This sweet, creamy custard is the classic filling for pastries, tarts, and cakes.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States