Pastry Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
This recipe was fantastic. The only thing I will change next time is to leave the butter out. I think it made my cream too runny. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dlish

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
The whole reason I chose to make this recipe today is because I THOUGHT I had some vanilla beans to use up. Well, I scoured the cabinet and they were nowhere to be found! I substitued with vanilla extract and just added it to the milk when I first turned the burner on. This is fantastic. I was licking the hot pudding out of the bottom of the pan! Used as filling for cream puffs. Delicious, and not hard to make at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
This cream has excellent flavor, but it was just a tad heavy for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paige in CA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
Yummy! I followed this recipe as is, except I used vanilla extract (I didn't have any vanilla beans available) and I doubled the quantities. Oh my, this is so rich and delicious, tastes almost like Creme Brulee rather than a vanilla pudding. Will definitely make again! UPDATE: I was making this to take to a friends place tonight and realized I didn't have any white sugar on hand, so I used light brown sugar. WOW! It came out the same texture but a little darker in color and with a smooth carmely taste... soooo incredible! I love this recipe, it's such easy dessert to whip up when you haven't a lot of time, but want something rich tasting that can be used in many different ways: to fill eclairs, crepes, served with fruit or as a simple custard. Thanks for posting this recipe, I'd give it 10 stars if I could!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cat_1970

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
Absolutely amazing! I have made this several times. It always turns out perfect. I normally make it to fill my chocolate eclairs. I always need to make way more than I need since a lot of it seems to disappear before I can get them filled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wausau, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
I 1 1/2 timed this recipe for eclairs and my husband ate it all! It's even better than the pasty cream I made in culinary school.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfield, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
Have a similar recipe with corn starch instead of flour -- makes it smoother I think, but then again I never strain mine. You can also make it into a chocolate sauce if you break a bar of a high coco percentage chocolate into the cream right as it begins to set with a tea spoon of instant coffee
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Omar H.
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
One word: Yummy! I made this using a 1/4 teaspoon of artificial vanilla flavoring and used it to fill mini-tarts and topped them with fresh fruit. I would have never guessed that making delicious pastry cream can be so simple and relatively quick and easy! Will be looking for other dessert recipes to incorporate this into!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
Excellent! I made this recipe and folded in about 3 cups of whipped cream and a pint of sliced strawberries for a vanilla cake filling! I made cakes for 2 different birthdays and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
This is the classic 6 yolk Creme Patissiere. It is rich, smooth and perfectly thick for filling eclairs. I consider it too thick for a stand alone pudding (even though we gobbled up leftovers). It would be nice in a tart or pie, topped with glazed fruit. I think the 1/2 cup of sugar is perfect. Although I will definately make this again, I plan to also try some lighter versions using fewer yolks and cornstarch and hope they hold up as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chatham, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pastry Cream

This sweet, creamy custard is the classic filling for pastries, tarts, and cakes.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Vanilla Ice Cream V

This is pure, simple heaven: Vanilla ice cream with great flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States