Pastry Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by Omar H.
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
One word: Yummy! I made this using a 1/4 teaspoon of artificial vanilla flavoring and used it to fill mini-tarts and topped them with fresh fruit. I would have never guessed that making delicious pastry cream can be so simple and relatively quick and easy! Will be looking for other dessert recipes to incorporate this into!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
Excellent! I made this recipe and folded in about 3 cups of whipped cream and a pint of sliced strawberries for a vanilla cake filling! I made cakes for 2 different birthdays and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
This is the classic 6 yolk Creme Patissiere. It is rich, smooth and perfectly thick for filling eclairs. I consider it too thick for a stand alone pudding (even though we gobbled up leftovers). It would be nice in a tart or pie, topped with glazed fruit. I think the 1/2 cup of sugar is perfect. Although I will definately make this again, I plan to also try some lighter versions using fewer yolks and cornstarch and hope they hold up as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chatham, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
Super easy to make and tastes nice. Mixed in some melted white chocolate after removing from heat and used for a black bottom banana cream pie. I tasted a tiny tiny bit of flour but once the vanilla extract and white choco went in I didn't taste it anymore.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
This is the filling I use with Grandmother's Pound Cake I (also on this website) to make a decadent Boston Cream Pie. I also make Pastry Cream as a luxurious vanilla pudding/custard. Ultimate comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
So easy, and very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ProudMommyof2

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
soooooo delicious, i kept dipping into it and didn't have enough to fill all of my cream puffs! Everyone thought i went to a lot of trouble but it was pretty simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2008
I tried my hand at making this 3 weeks ago and let it was simply marvelous. It barely made it into the cupcakes. This will definitely be my go to recipe for now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Echo Garrett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
Awesome recipe with amazing results. Can't go wrong with this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XXXNAUGHTY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
This was very easy to make and was perfect for filling tart shells.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYJEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Saugerties, New York, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pastry Cream

This sweet, creamy custard is the classic filling for pastries, tarts, and cakes.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States