Pastry Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
This was so easy to make! I tasted a bit of it on its own once it was finished, and it did taste a little eggy all by its lonesome. Once inside the profiteroles I made, however, the taste was just right! The flavor was not overly sweet. I did not need to strain it at all. I made the recipe as is (all 6 yolks & all 6 tbs of butter), and did not find the cream to be at all runny; the texture was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
Fabulous. Used this to fill eclairs from this site - big hit. Also used it on a boston cream pie that completely flopped. LOL. We ended up taking the frosted, flattened cake and dipping in the pastry cream. It was still really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeirdAuntMartha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hopkins, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
This pastry cream tastes great. Just like a bakery. I followed this recipe exactly except I used vanilla extract at the end instead of the cooking with the vanilla bean. I did read some earlier comments stating that this recipe was too "eggy" and they used less egg yolks. I almost cut back on the egg yolks but I did end up putting all 6 yolks. I am glad I did. This was perfect. Keep in mind, this recipe is not for vanilla pudding, it is for pastry cream. Keep all the yolks and butter. I stirred constantly and didn't have any lumps so no need to strain it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
This recipe was fantastic. The only thing I will change next time is to leave the butter out. I think it made my cream too runny. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dlish

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
The whole reason I chose to make this recipe today is because I THOUGHT I had some vanilla beans to use up. Well, I scoured the cabinet and they were nowhere to be found! I substitued with vanilla extract and just added it to the milk when I first turned the burner on. This is fantastic. I was licking the hot pudding out of the bottom of the pan! Used as filling for cream puffs. Delicious, and not hard to make at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
This cream has excellent flavor, but it was just a tad heavy for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paige in CA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
Yummy! I followed this recipe as is, except I used vanilla extract (I didn't have any vanilla beans available) and I doubled the quantities. Oh my, this is so rich and delicious, tastes almost like Creme Brulee rather than a vanilla pudding. Will definitely make again! UPDATE: I was making this to take to a friends place tonight and realized I didn't have any white sugar on hand, so I used light brown sugar. WOW! It came out the same texture but a little darker in color and with a smooth carmely taste... soooo incredible! I love this recipe, it's such easy dessert to whip up when you haven't a lot of time, but want something rich tasting that can be used in many different ways: to fill eclairs, crepes, served with fruit or as a simple custard. Thanks for posting this recipe, I'd give it 10 stars if I could!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cat_1970

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
Absolutely amazing! I have made this several times. It always turns out perfect. I normally make it to fill my chocolate eclairs. I always need to make way more than I need since a lot of it seems to disappear before I can get them filled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wausau, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
I 1 1/2 timed this recipe for eclairs and my husband ate it all! It's even better than the pasty cream I made in culinary school.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfield, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
Have a similar recipe with corn starch instead of flour -- makes it smoother I think, but then again I never strain mine. You can also make it into a chocolate sauce if you break a bar of a high coco percentage chocolate into the cream right as it begins to set with a tea spoon of instant coffee
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pastry Cream

This sweet, creamy custard is the classic filling for pastries, tarts, and cakes.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States