Pastry Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
Great recipe. I only had wheat flour and cheap imitation vanilla and it still came out fine. Don't be shy with the vanilla, I'm adding more next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Stevens

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Tehachapi, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
I used this for a napoleon, and it was fantastic! I did follow other suggestions and leave out one egg and use vanilla extract. Next time I will add just a bit more than 1 tsp of vanilla, but otherwise it worked very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
Thick, rich, smooth, delicious, and perfect to fill the chocolate cake I wanted it for. I'm just not sure, for this purpose anyway, that I'm all that crazy about the flecks of vanilla bean that in my opinion detract from it's appearance - fine for ice cream, not for pastry cream. Next time I'll just use vanilla extract for a perfect "custard" colored custard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2009
Very quick and easy. Perfect for use with fresh fruit and crepes. I do recommend scraping the vanilla bean into the milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by macybay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Louisa, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
Was a very good tasting cream, but not quite thick enough. We ate it as pudding instead of a filling. Will maybe cook a little longer next time to thicken up more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gower, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
This was an awesome recipe! I used it for a Boston creme pie and my hubby made himself sick eating it! We both love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arlie Lambert

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Klamath Falls, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
I used this for eclair filling (the eclairs II recipe on here), this was my first attempt at making eclairs, and they turned out SO good! the cream was the best part. I used vanilla extract instead of a vanilla bean, and i didn't strain it. I only used 5 egg yolks since some users said it turned out pretty eggy, and it turned out so creamy and delicious! I'll definitely be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARAHBRASILE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lapeer, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
This was so easy to make! I tasted a bit of it on its own once it was finished, and it did taste a little eggy all by its lonesome. Once inside the profiteroles I made, however, the taste was just right! The flavor was not overly sweet. I did not need to strain it at all. I made the recipe as is (all 6 yolks & all 6 tbs of butter), and did not find the cream to be at all runny; the texture was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
Fabulous. Used this to fill eclairs from this site - big hit. Also used it on a boston cream pie that completely flopped. LOL. We ended up taking the frosted, flattened cake and dipping in the pastry cream. It was still really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeirdAuntMartha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hopkins, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
This pastry cream tastes great. Just like a bakery. I followed this recipe exactly except I used vanilla extract at the end instead of the cooking with the vanilla bean. I did read some earlier comments stating that this recipe was too "eggy" and they used less egg yolks. I almost cut back on the egg yolks but I did end up putting all 6 yolks. I am glad I did. This was perfect. Keep in mind, this recipe is not for vanilla pudding, it is for pastry cream. Keep all the yolks and butter. I stirred constantly and didn't have any lumps so no need to strain it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pastry Cream

This sweet, creamy custard is the classic filling for pastries, tarts, and cakes.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Vanilla Ice Cream V

This is pure, simple heaven: Vanilla ice cream with great flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States