Pastry Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
I love this recipe. Comes out perfect every time! Only I use 2 t. vanilla extract rather than a bean. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
Made it exactly like the reciepe and it was PERFECT!!! SOOOOOOO YUMM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
Have used this pastry cream for cream puffs (with whipped cream folded in), for filling cakes and making trifle. Such good flavor and quite simple to make. Very versatile and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Junebug

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Alberni, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
Great recipe. I only had wheat flour and cheap imitation vanilla and it still came out fine. Don't be shy with the vanilla, I'm adding more next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Stevens

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Tehachapi, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
I used this for a napoleon, and it was fantastic! I did follow other suggestions and leave out one egg and use vanilla extract. Next time I will add just a bit more than 1 tsp of vanilla, but otherwise it worked very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
Thick, rich, smooth, delicious, and perfect to fill the chocolate cake I wanted it for. I'm just not sure, for this purpose anyway, that I'm all that crazy about the flecks of vanilla bean that in my opinion detract from it's appearance - fine for ice cream, not for pastry cream. Next time I'll just use vanilla extract for a perfect "custard" colored custard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2009
Very quick and easy. Perfect for use with fresh fruit and crepes. I do recommend scraping the vanilla bean into the milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by macybay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Louisa, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
Was a very good tasting cream, but not quite thick enough. We ate it as pudding instead of a filling. Will maybe cook a little longer next time to thicken up more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gower, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
This was an awesome recipe! I used it for a Boston creme pie and my hubby made himself sick eating it! We both love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by plutosplaytime

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Klamath Falls, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
I used this for eclair filling (the eclairs II recipe on here), this was my first attempt at making eclairs, and they turned out SO good! the cream was the best part. I used vanilla extract instead of a vanilla bean, and i didn't strain it. I only used 5 egg yolks since some users said it turned out pretty eggy, and it turned out so creamy and delicious! I'll definitely be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARAHBRASILE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lapeer, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pastry Cream

This sweet, creamy custard is the classic filling for pastries, tarts, and cakes.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States