Pastry Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
This recipe turned out really well and was a cinch to make! I made it with the little boy I au pair for, and we both liked it so much. Even his older sister liked it and she is usually really picky! Thanks for a great recipe. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
Perfect. Simple to make and yummy. Would be excellent in cream puffs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2005
I kind of bs'd my way through this, since I didn't have quite what I needed - only used five egg yolks (smashed one egg on the way home), and so used what I judged to be a "bit less" of everything else to make it, and substituted 2 tb of cornstarch instead of flour because I cleverly spilled my whole wheat flour into the white flour tin, so I didn't want bran flecks in it. I also didn't have a vanilla bean, so I splashed some extract in. Soooo unbelievably good, it nearly didn't make the cake cooling sufficiently to fill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2005
This is a great recipe! I have been using it for years. Pastry cream is a delicate thing to make so you want to follow the directions exactly. If you do it will turn out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LinC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2004
Very good, basic recipe - will definitely use this recipe again and again. *Edit* Try this with the "Cream Puff Cake" recipe - instead of the cream cheese mixture on that recipe, use pastry cream and a chocolate glaze... Delicious and SO easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shanagan

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2004
I was desperate for pudding and had no cornstarch so tried this recipe... weird that I had a vanilla bean. I was worried about using the flour as starch, fearing sweet gravy, but was richly rewarded! It was totally lumpy but adding a touch of milk and a few minutes with the electric mixer and all was solved. A little sweet, but wonderful silky texture and NO flour taste. This has now replaced my previous vanilla pastry cream stand-by!! Next time I will maybe use 1/3 cup sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JulieBlair1979

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2004
This recipe will make an excellant filling for a cake. I tried it to use up leftover egg yolks from making angel food cake. It was a bit too rich for me to each by itself, but I can't wait to use it with devils food cake or something similar. Easy to make too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2004
This is so delicious. It puts vanilla pudding to shame! I made it as a filling for a cake, but ended up serving it by itself instead. It has a wonderful, velvety texture. The directions say you may strain it for a smoother cream, but that wasn't necessary. Be patient adding the hot milk to the eggs and you won't have any lumps. I only wish I had listened to some of the other reviewers and made a double batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SEY1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2004
Delicious. I searched for recipes requiring egg yolks, after using 3 egg whites in a previous recipe. This a very easy recipe and it is even easier when you put all the ingredients in a large microwave safe bowl and cook on HI, whisking after a min or two, till thickened and simmering. Takes about 4 min. or so. I'll use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2004
Fantastic!!! It is quitepossibly the best pastry cream i have had!! Buttery and lots of vanilla flavor....So how about a chocolate pastry cream?=p
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Pastry Cream

This sweet, creamy custard is the classic filling for pastries, tarts, and cakes.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States